Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Applique Quilt Question

Applique Quilt Question

Hi, First of all, I'm not sure I'm posting this question in the right place...but I just bought the quilt pattern "Bloom" by V and Co. It was suppose to be easy but doesn't tell how to applique the petals on the quilt. I guess I could use a zigzag or blanket stitch but I'm concerned about how that would look in the center where the stitches meet. Has anyone else made this quilt? I could use some advice. BTW I'm new to quilting and this is my first appliqued quilt. Thanks for any advice or suggestions.

I hear you!! I bought a pattern from a different co but it said "use your favorite applique method"...what helped me was utube, this board, and doing searches of free tutorials and then just trying the different methods like needle turn or fusible machine stitch. Sometimes you just have to practice a method to see if you will like it...maybe on some scrap frabric. Good luck!!

Blog Entries
    If you can, get Harriet Hargrave's book which explains in detail different ways to do applique. Here is a link:
    http://www.amazon.com/Mastering-Mach...dp/157120136X/

My preference is freezer paper applique (with edges turned under using white school paste rather than a glue stick) and a small reverse hem stitch. For a baby quilt, I would probably choose a fine polyester or cotton thread for the applique stitch.

Blog Entries
    My preference is freezer paper applique with edges turned under and starched. I don't care much for the buttonhole-stitch look, it's not my style.