Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Applique when fabric too small to turn under

Applique when fabric too small to turn under

Hi ladies. I saw the BOM for The The Rasberry Rabbits and I got everything ready like buying the fabric, cutting my large background squares and everything. However, the designer used Wool but I am very allergic to wool and I wanted to make it in fabric. When I go to turn the fabric over for freezer paper/starch applique where the bunnies legs are the turn over part is too small. I think with needle turn method it may work and of course it would work with the steam a seam. Do you ladies have any other suggestions? I am new at applique and the only method I have used is freezer paper/starch but this may force me to expand my horizons. Thanks for your help. I am putting up a link so you can see what I mean http://www.theraspberryrabbits.com/e.../handhfebp.pdf

Try cutting a straight line between the legs and the foot on the ground and then make small cuts to the legs, and then turn under. Like you would do on a circle. I hope this helps and isn't clear as mud.

Blog Entries
    all you need to do is add a seam allowance (turn under allowance) to your applique pieces- if using freezer paper cut the shapes out of the freezer paper- press to the fabric= add 1/8"=1/4" around the piece as you cut it out- then you can use that technique- if you already cut your pieces out to the (wool sizes) you will have pieces that are smaller- if you do needle turn-
    fusable is an option- but difficult to add after the pieces are already cut out.
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

Quote Originally Posted by ckcowl View Post