Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Asthmatics and spray basting?

Gal
    Just wondering how many of you get on using spray basting, if you are asthmatic?
    I am not good at all with anything which comes in a mist spray type container.
    Would love to hear from others regarding this.

Gal

Murray, Ky. Looking for a nice cushy pillow to rest my head on!
    Blog Entries
    Anything I use in an aerosal can makes my asthma act up.

Would it help to use a disposable face mask?

Gal
    Yes I am thinking I will have to do this, but if it works it will sure be a big help.

Gal

If you wore a mask AND sprayed outside AND waited til some of the spray smell dissipated before bringing your project inside THEN you would be okay. Please, those of you who are asthmatics take all precaution to protect yourself from the fumes, we don't want to trigger an attack. Safe and happy quilting to all.

I have to make sure that I open the window and there is lots of fresh air in the room when I'm using the spray. It doesn't help that I have nasal polyps to go along with my asthma so really there are days that i'm just a mess! I only use the spray for small projects but I recently have been using a basting gun instead. Anything to not have to take the inhalers!

Gal
    I can't live without my inhalers! I have to take medication every day!

Gal

I learned a long time ago that I step outside...

I usually go down to the large social room in our bldg. or go out side when I use.

Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    My son is VERY asthmatic. He leaves when I spray baste. It just gives him fits while I'm spraying. He is ok to come back when the spraying is finished.

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by trif