Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Aurora 440QEE & Vista >

Aurora 440QEE & Vista

Aurora 440QEE & Vista

Old 11-19-2007, 06:17 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 53
Default

Hi Everyone!

I have a question for all you Bernina & Vista users......Do you have problems with the download speed of the embroidery design from EC on PC to the 440?

After 2+ hours of trying to get the software to work and finally getting it to work it took another 20 minutes or so to download a very simple NAME to the sewing machine to embroider. Is this a common problem with the 440 & the Vista OS?

My laptop is only 4 months old and it came with Vista, I emailed Gateway tonight to see if I could get downgraded to XP and the tech told me no it would void all my warranties and the laptop wouldn't work, so now I am unsure what to do next?

Your thoughts/experiences would be appreciated.

Thanks
ladymyste is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 06:29 PM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
amma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Out searching for some sunshine :-)
Posts: 58,857
Default

I do not know about this specific problem, but in the past when I had issues with a new/newer computer I called the manufacturer and had them help me solve it. They had the capapbility to take over my computer remotely, and they dug around until they found the problems, while I sat and watched what they were doing on my monitor. They explained on the phone what they were doing, looking for and why. Maybe Gateway can do that for you, the way HP did for me?
amma is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 06:31 PM
  #3  
Power Poster
 
amma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Out searching for some sunshine :-)
Posts: 58,857
Default

Another thought is are you using dial up? Or do you have a lot of other programs running while you were trying to download the embroidery design? Some lap tops will run slower than a pc. You could ask Gateway about this too.
amma is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 06:41 PM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 53
Default

Thanks amma....tried talking with Gateway and they say they can't help. I have emailed my complaint to them. I would love to go back to XP which works great with the Brenina software but Gateway says I can't do that and it will void my warranties.

So now I wait for more suggestions :(
ladymyste is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 07:37 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: west tenn
Posts: 145
Default

a computer place where i take my computer to that had to do some work on my laptop told me that i could not use the vista on my embroidery machine i have a brother 2500 she said that i would have to use my xp i dont know anything about the vista . the lady told me it was something that you would have to get use to thanks dorothy from tenn
middysmom is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 07:56 PM
  #6  
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: northern New England
Posts: 459
Default

I don't have a sewing machine problem, but I do have a computer with Vista. As I understand it, a lot of software is not yet compatible with it. I think you should see if Bernina has a download that is Vista compatible yet, and, if not, when they think they will get it done. There is nothing Gateway can do for you, it has to be from Bernina's end of things. All the manuafacturers are working on this because they are losing business every day they delay their upgrades. Good luck to you.
nor'easter is offline  
Old 11-20-2007, 08:31 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Moonpi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Central FL
Posts: 4,829
Default

If you have you already tried the Vista compatability tool, then you're at the mercy of the people who designed your software. The ones I have to use prefer to sell a new-improved Vista-ready package than provide a fix. Lotsa $$$$$

I have to laugh at the Mac commercial that points out that Vista users are swarming back to XP. I'm pretty much at that point myself. The home version seems to have been tested only with Microsoft software.

Microsoft designed backwards compatability into every other product. Did Bill Gates really believe he would run out of money if he did that with Vista, too?

There is another thread here if you want to hear other people's Vista experiences.
Moonpi is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 11:28 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
hokieappmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 744
Default

You can have XP loaded onto your computer, and it should work fine. I bough my son a laptop with Vista and he couldn't stand it. A local computer guy did it for me and only charged $75.
hokieappmom is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 03:58 PM
  #9  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 53
Default

I could have XP loaded on my laptop but it voids the warranty provided by Gateway.

I finally got it to work, it does take a few extra minutes to send it to the PC than on an XP system but it is something I can deal with and if I really need it faster I can always move my machine to the kitchen.
:D
ladymyste is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
sewnsewer2
Main
5
06-14-2009 08:21 PM
Bevanger
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
1
06-03-2009 06:15 PM
henryparrish76
Main
5
03-14-2008 05:15 AM
zyxquilts
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
8
10-11-2007 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.