Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 67

Thread: Binding Fabric--Should I use the dark or the medium ?? Would like opinions

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    The California Hills
    Posts
    626

    Binding Fabric--Should I use the dark or the medium ?? Would like opinions

    I think it will look nice using the dark blue (from the sashing) fabric for the binding but I know a lot of quilters prefer to use the fabric that is used in the outer border. I have 3 choices here--the dark blue from sashing, the medium blue small print from the border or the medium blue large floral print from the backing. I like all three but think the dark would make a nice "framing" to it.

    This is only a portion of the quilt--it measures around 68x78.

    Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images


  2. #2
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    19,741
    I like the dark blue best.
    The large print second best.

  3. #3
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    29,897
    The dark blue looks perfect to me. It frames your top nicely and will match with the backing fabric.

  4. #4
    Super Member jcrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Small town in Northeast Oregon close to Washington and Idaho
    Posts
    2,733
    Blog Entries
    5
    I like the border floral myself. I usually go for the dark, but something tells me the floral!
    "Be yourself...everyone else is taken."
    Strong people don't put others down...they build them up."
    "Remember that your instincts are more important than rules"

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    736
    Dark blue.
    http://www.thingsthatarenotperfect.blogspot.com/

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Southern Indiana
    Posts
    5,040
    Love the dark blue it really frames your border. I would go with it!

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Mechanicsville, IA
    Posts
    1,488
    I like the dark blue. Pulls everything together and makes a frame.
    Cheryl Robinson
    http://www.silverneedlestitching.com
    APQS Millenium Longarm with Intelliquilter

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Northern KY
    Posts
    34
    I agree with SilverNeedle, the dark blue helps pull it all together
    Mary

    Sew much fabric, sew little time

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Thornton, Colorado
    Posts
    948
    The dark blue binding would create a lovely frame effect once it goes on.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    15
    I would go out and buy some dark pink but then I live where it is summer currently.

  11. #11
    Super Member katier825's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,160
    Blog Entries
    3
    I like the dark blue with it.. .it's a very pretty quilt!

  12. #12
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    9,385
    I like the dark blue!

  13. #13
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    11,942
    Blog Entries
    1
    My preference is for the dark blue (sashing) fabric.

  14. #14
    Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    The middle of an IL cornfield
    Posts
    7,024
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like the dark blue, personally.

    My thoughts on binding are if you do it well you can use any color you like. If your bindings are wavy, match the border and no one will notice. I'm finally getting to the "use anything" stage and I like the variety it allows.

  15. #15
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    western ny
    Posts
    1,573
    I would use the dark blue.

  16. #16
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    I would choose the yellow fabric that is in the quilt for a binding. The blue is nice but really blends in too much for me. Just my opinion. The quilt is very nice.
    Got fabric?

  17. #17
    Senior Member TinkerQuilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Big Horn Mountains, Wyoming
    Posts
    543
    The dark blue finishes the quilt best IMHO.

  18. #18
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    dallas tx.
    Posts
    4,588
    Blog Entries
    3
    I prefer the dark blue. It is a very pretty quilt too.

  19. #19
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    42,913
    Blog Entries
    45
    i'd use the dark
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak THINK
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    105
    I like the dark blue.
    Enjoying life to the fullest is learning to quilt and riding my motorcycle.

  21. #21
    Senior Member alisonquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Winston-Salem NC
    Posts
    661
    Add another for the dark blue!

    Alison

  22. #22
    Super Member QandE2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Florida - formerly Montana
    Posts
    3,481
    Dark blue gets my vote.
    Alma
    Nami to 6

  23. #23
    Super Member patchsamkim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Fox Valley Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,937
    My motto is: when in doubt go dark...so my vote would be for the darker blue...or...you could even go with the darker pink if you still have some of that...it would be dark, but a contrast, instead of matching the blue lattice fabric....give the quilt some "zip" at the edge....you have the final decision though, any of the choices would work.

  24. #24
    Super Member Dina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,060
    I also like the dark blue.

    Dina

  25. #25
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Brisbane, Aust
    Posts
    1,503
    I like the dark blue!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.