Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Binding With Glue

Blog Entries
    On other threads about this subject, the Sharon Schamers method is always mentioned.I'm NOT good at bindings & would try this method if I could be sure it wouldn't damage my machine.

Has anyone used glue for long enough to say it hasn't gummed up/damaged their machine? Maybe I should use my other machine ? If I can remember how.....

I love this method!!! I have done it many, many times and I have never had a problem.

I use regular white glue in a thin bead and I press it so it holds. I also let it sit for a bit so the glue is dry.

I have never had a needle break or had it gum up my needle.

I use this to machine stitch inthe ditch and I never miss the back side anymore!

Try it!

Power Poster
    Blog Entries
    I've used the glue stick, Elmer's washable, and assorted iron-on interfacings and I have never had any problems. In the beginning it is easy to glob the glue on too thick, but that gets better with practice.

i use it on every quilt i make (over 6 years) and have never had a problem

Blog Entries
    I have never tried this but I am taking notes. thank you for the tip. :thumbup:

I've only done it once, but using this method my first ever binding was nearly perfect. I did have machine issues doing it, but that had nothing to do with the glue...I was just not thinking properly, lol.

Blog Entries
    I think I'll try it.

I use a UHU brand glue stick, and it works great!

Blog Entries
    Do you sew to front or back 1st, then stitch in ditch on other side.Do you use a quarter inch foot or marker to stitch in the ditch ? Thanks.I appreciate your sharing.

Quote Originally Posted by oatw13
    I love this method!!! I have done it many, many times and I have never had a problem.