Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Binding opinions

  1. #1
    Senior Member wanttobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Rochester, New Hampshire
    Posts
    820

    Binding opinions

    I am having my quilt quilted and binded by someone. They are using a bluish color for the quilting. Opinions on the binding color.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Member Luv Quilts and Cats's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,708
    My first thought when I saw the photo was use a red binding. Pick any of the reds in the quilt and I think it will look great. Hope this helps! Very nice quilt. The squares are so tiny!
    Luv Quilts and Cats
    Never underestimate the healing effects of beauty. - Florence Nightingale

  3. #3
    Super Member HillCountryGal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    The beautiful Texas hill country.
    Posts
    1,261
    The blue/purple jumps out at me.
    That's a LOT of squares!!

  4. #4
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    14,850
    Audition some of the fabrics with it once it's quilted.
    Another possibility would be a scrappy binding, using an assortment from the quilt.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Sew many ideas ... just sew little time!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  5. #5
    Super Member DogHouseMom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Knot Merrill, Southern Indiana
    Posts
    5,713
    Nice postage stamp quilt!! Are those 1" finished squares?

    I presume that there is no border.

    If correct, I would bind in any of the darker colors.

    But wondering what is on the back as well. Since the front can take *any* binding, you might just want to match it to the back so they play together well.
    May your stitches always be straight, your seams always lie flat, and your grain never be biased against you.

    Sue

  6. #6
    Senior Member wanttobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Rochester, New Hampshire
    Posts
    820
    They are 2 1/2 inch squares. There isn't a border. The back will be muslin (spelling). They suggested red but I was thinking there was more burgundy then anything

  7. #7
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    29,876
    You could do most any colour because of all the colours in the top. For me it would depend on what colour the room was that I was putting it in. I notice more blue than other colours on my screen.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    howell, Mi
    Posts
    2,342
    For me the light blue jumps out at me. Nice quilt. Careful with a muslin backing. Make sure the colors don't show through.
    Sue

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    S. Texas
    Posts
    1,951
    Blue jumps out at me too.

  10. #10
    Super Member Deborahlees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Wine Country-Southern California
    Posts
    1,455
    I think the binding color should be whatever color YOU want to bring out....is it going to be a gift for some one....if so what colors do they prefer.....you could always go with black which would be a neutral....
    Yes that is a real picture of my hometown Temecula, California. We feature premiere Wineries, World Class Golf Courses, Pechanga Indian Casino and Hot Air Balloons

  11. #11
    Super Member DogHouseMom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Knot Merrill, Southern Indiana
    Posts
    5,713
    Quote Originally Posted by wanttobe View Post
    They are 2 1/2 inch squares. There isn't a border. The back will be muslin (spelling). They suggested red but I was thinking there was more burgundy then anything
    In that case I would choose a Burgundy binding. I think the predominant color in the top is blue - so I would use burgundy to highlight it.
    May your stitches always be straight, your seams always lie flat, and your grain never be biased against you.

    Sue

  12. #12
    Super Member 117becca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    dayton OH
    Posts
    1,878
    Beautiful quilt!!! I love quilts like that!!! I'm in the auditioning crowd to see what works. I also see the blue first - but then, blue is also my favorite color.
    my name is becca and i'm a quilt-a-holic :-)

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bushkill, Pa
    Posts
    535
    With the large amount of colors you have in this quilt, I would put a black binding on it. Black frames a quilt, especially one with a lot of colors.

  14. #14
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fort White, Fl
    Posts
    2,673
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by wanttobe View Post
    They are 2 1/2 inch squares. There isn't a border. The back will be muslin (spelling). They suggested red but I was thinking there was more burgundy then anything
    I agree with this. The deep burgandy would look fantastic. You will get many answers but in the end the choice is yours.
    A friend is someone who knows all about you and loves you anyway.

  15. #15
    Super Member Sandra-P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Mexico /Naples, Florida
    Posts
    1,356
    With almost all my quilts I use Amish black for binding. It seems to frame the quilt nicely. Pretty quilt.
    Sandra

  16. #16
    Junior Member x7lillies's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    157
    I think one of the darker olive greens would look nice
    - Kim

    kimkolbquilts.etsy.com

  17. #17
    Super Member Sierra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    northern California
    Posts
    1,084
    I, personally, never bind with a light color because the binding is where hands pull up the blanket during the night, etc. I think either a darker blue (doesn't have to be REALLY dark, just darker) or the darker off red in the quilt. I guess, because the blue is lighter I would use the red. The quilts I make get used and a darker binding helps keep them looking nice longer between washings.

    The quilt is really lovely. Did you use a square backing material or just line them up?
    Last edited by Sierra; 10-15-2012 at 09:07 AM.

  18. #18
    Super Member PenniF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    North Texas formerly The Burgh
    Posts
    3,389
    i think blue....but obviously you could really use any color you wanted to.
    Of all the things i've lost, i miss my mind the most.

  19. #19
    Power Poster MadQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ELVERTA, CA
    Posts
    15,269
    Blog Entries
    1
    I see it in blue to go with the blue quilting thread.
    Martina
    Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Fabric!

  20. #20
    Super Member azwendyg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Flagstaff, AZ
    Posts
    2,079
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'd use blue or purple on this one.
    Wendy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.