Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
binding for placemats >

binding for placemats

binding for placemats

Old 10-22-2013, 09:14 AM

Default binding for placemats

Hi everyone.

When you make placemats, do you use mitered corners on the binding? I'm not good with miters and would rather not do them. How would I do squared corners?

Thanks for any help.
Old 10-22-2013, 10:46 AM

I use placemats as practice on mitering corners. They're going to get washed so much, they don't have to be perfect.

If you don't like doing them, I think squared corners are fine also. It's hard to explain how I would do them... back when I didn't know any better, square was just how my corners would turn out, and I didn't worry about it. I don't recall exactly how it happened, though. Hopefully someone else can give you some better guidance.
Old 10-22-2013, 10:47 AM

I usually do placemats by the birthing or pillowcase method. With right sides together and any batting included on the outside (usually the bottom), stitch almost all the way around, leaving a small part unstitched to turn the placemat.
Old 10-22-2013, 10:48 AM

You can do what you want.

However, I always considered the smaller quilted pieces the best place to learn or sharpen up skills.
Old 10-22-2013, 10:50 AM

I, too, practice mitering corners on placemats. I'm still not good at them and sometimes give up and just make the corners curved and/or squared. It's been fun playing with them and trying new techniques with placemats and mug rugs. My miters are better on some corners so still practicing .... mug rugs and placemats always come in handy at my house.
Old 10-22-2013, 10:57 AM
Power Poster