Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
? on binding quilt with minky backing >

? on binding quilt with minky backing

? on binding quilt with minky backing

Old 02-28-2016, 02:11 PM

Default ? on binding quilt with minky backing

I am going to machine sew the binding down instead of hand sew as this is a quilt for a baby and will get washed much. My question is do I sew the binding on the back and fold to the front to sew or due the normal way. Thanks for your help. This is my first time using minky. Did not use batting and it quilted well.
Old 02-28-2016, 02:19 PM

Glad to hear the quilting went well for you. I saw your previous post with questions about it. Sorry, I don't have advice about machine binding as I haven't done that. It does seem like a good idea for baby/kids quilts, but so far haven't tried it on mine. Someone here will have good advice for you and I do know there are plenty of on-line videos about it.
Old 02-28-2016, 03:15 PM
Banned

I always do my binding by sewing to the back first then bringing it to the front. I don't press the binding in half before sewing, and when I sew it to the front I don't pin except sometimes at the corners. For the front I use a zipper foot and just hold the binding in place with the edge right over the seam line. Sew a few inches, stop and position a few more inches and repeat. It goes very fast this way and always looks good.

Cari
Old 02-28-2016, 04:31 PM
Power Poster

I have never used Minky but if you are going to sew it by machine, I would attach to the back and then bring it forward. You can use a decorative stitch to sew the binding down on the front.
Old 02-28-2016, 04:34 PM

I machine stitch mine on similar to Cari-in-Oly. I haven't worked with Minky so don't know if this will work because that product seems to be thicker than a normal quilt.