Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Binding

I hate them!! Everytime it gets close to binding, I break out in a cold sweat. If I machine sew it it makes a seam on. If I machine sew with bottom up, ofcoarse a new seam! Right now I am hand sewing on the binding, which is no east trick I am telling you. Hours of it
    I am a self taught for 5 years. Just learning from magazines and the internet
    Thanks
    Cheryl

Blog Entries
    Some quilts I sew it on the back, bring it to the front and use a decorative stitch looks good from both sides.:)

Quote Originally Posted by erstan947
    Some quilts I sew it on the back, bring it to the front and use a decorative stitch looks good from both sides.:)
    Me too!! Much easier, quicker and I get to use some of my fancy stitches!! :wink:

If you machine stitch it on to the top & hand stitch it to the back it should cover the seam. Have you tried the ladder stitch - tutorials online for this method - slick & invisible.

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by mommamac
    If you machine stitch it on to the top & hand stitch it to the back it should cover the seam. Have you tried the ladder stitch - tutorials online for this method - slick & invisible.
    I just completed my quilt using this method and it worked slick. Thanks eveyone for the advice.

Quote Originally Posted by cbw431
    I hate them!! Everytime it gets close to binding, I break out in a cold sweat. If I machine sew it it makes a seam on. If I machine sew with bottom up, ofcoarse a new seam! Right now I am hand sewing on the binding, which is no east trick I am telling you. Hours of it
    I am a self taught for 5 years. Just learning from magazines and the internet
    Thanks
    Cheryl