Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Brother Sewing Machine Help >

Brother Sewing Machine Help

Brother Sewing Machine Help

Old 08-08-2015, 12:05 PM
  #1  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
Rhonda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salem Iowa
Posts: 15,468
Default Brother Sewing Machine Help

I have the CE5000 Brother Project Runway machine. I 've been using it for the last couple of years now and lately it has been skipping stitches. It is driving me insane!

I have followed the manual and made sure the needle is in correctly. The book says flat side to the back. I have tried different threads and rethread the thread and the bobbin numerous times. Sometimes it straightens out and is fine and then like now it won't quit skipping. I cleaned out any lint. I took off the covers and cleaned it out thoroughly.

I am at wit's end. I do have other machines I can use but I want to use THIS one!!

Any suggestions?
Rhonda is offline  
Old 08-08-2015, 12:39 PM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,235
Default

Did you change needle brands? You are inserting the needle correctly, but is it all the way up the shaft?
PaperPrincess is offline  
Old 08-08-2015, 12:44 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 1,871
Default

It may be the tension kit. I was having the same issue so I took it to get cleaned, then they told me the tension kit was out of whack. I had them replace it ($14.00ish), it took me a while to get my machine back because the tension kit was on back order. Hope that helps!
goldsberry921 is offline  
Old 08-08-2015, 12:58 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Girlfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 1,205
Default

Do a zigzag stitch. If it skips picking up on one side, the timing is out. It needs to go to a repairman to reset the timing.
Girlfriend is offline  
Old 08-08-2015, 01:47 PM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: McKinney TX
Posts: 1,236
Default

The Brother phone support line is wonderful. The only downside - they are closed on the weekends. When I was learning my Brother embroidery machine, I called them often, some days more than once.
rvsfan is offline  
Old 08-08-2015, 02:58 PM
  #6  
Super Member
 
EasyPeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,259
Default

Not familiar with Brother sewing machines...but could you oil it?
My Janome was skipping stitches. Putting a drop of oil fixed that.
EasyPeezy is offline  
Old 08-08-2015, 03:07 PM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 7,839
Default

Good idea.
cathyvv is offline  
Old 08-08-2015, 03:42 PM
  #8  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
Rhonda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salem Iowa
Posts: 15,468
Default

thanks for all hte suggestions. What has me puzzled is I put it on the 2 stitch and it works fine. but the needle is locked in one place. The regular setting allows me to move the needle from the left to the right for any width I want. THat is what is messing up. So if it is sewing okay in the 2 setting why isnt' it working in the 1 setting?

It can't be the timing or the tension if the other stitches work fine. But if I put it on the 00 setting which is the 1st stitch then it skips.

Yes I have the needle in correctly. You can see if it buts up against the top of the case and it is as far up as it goes.

I can use it for now with the 2 setting but I still would like to know why it is still skipping in the original setting. Not being able to use that setting means I can't use a 1/8" seam allowance which I often use. The 2 setting is a 1/4" seam allowance so it is workable. I just don't like having anything wrong with it.

I appreciate all the words of wisdom and will continue to try to figure this out.
Rhonda is offline  
Old 08-08-2015, 05:09 PM
  #9  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,448
Default

Skipping in different needle positions suggests that the timing is off. Like Girlfriend said, "Do a zigzag stitch. If it skips picking up on one side, the timing is out. It needs to go to a repairman to reset the timing." Usually when it skips "sometimes," it just needs the needle bar adjusted up or down a tiny bit.
quiltedsunshine is offline  
Old 08-08-2015, 05:43 PM
  #10  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
Rhonda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salem Iowa
Posts: 15,468
Default

thanks for the advice but it is only skipping in the basic straight stitch which is what I use all the time. it isn't skipping in any other stitch.

It also doesn't skip if I use paper instead of fabric. It only skips when i try to sew fabric. and the only stitch that skips is the straight stitch. That is what I've used since I got it. Why it has started skipping is beyond me.

It's done this off and on for a few months. It will be just fine for awhile and then it starts in again and wont' quit. then it stops and is fine again for awhile.
Rhonda is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
danandsassy
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
17
05-14-2011 06:26 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.