Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Buying a Bernina 750 >

Buying a Bernina 750

Buying a Bernina 750

Old 02-28-2013, 04:57 PM

Default Buying a Bernina 750

Hello,

I am a newbie here.

I went to a Bernina dealer 2 weeks ago and purchased a brand new Bernina 750. I financed it and was told I may have it in 2 weeks, but if my payments are due before I receive the machine, I have to start making the payments regardless. That did not sit well with me but I really like the machine so I went with it. Today, they told me the machine is not in yet but may be available mid March. I was also told that the last year, because of hurricane Sandy, there were people who bought their machines in August but did not receive the machine until December.

Does anyone have experience with buying a new machine? Is this a typical experience? I am very frustrated and unhappy.

Thank you.
Old 02-28-2013, 05:17 PM

With any new machine, and especially a Bernina there can be a waiting period. Supply doesn't meet demand. Iagree you shouldn't have to make payments before the machine is in your hands, though!! I would seriously look into that with the finance company/Bernina before I made a single payment.
Old 02-28-2013, 05:25 PM

Something is not adding up right. This is not a construction loan where they need your money to buy supplies. Why make a payment until the machine is in your hand? I have not bought a Bernina - I have Janome 6600 and a Viking Topaz 20 so have bought expensive machines. Each one I bought the machine was there for me to take. You should look at the contract - don't want to get bad credit over this. Another example of buyer be aware.
Old 02-28-2013, 05:38 PM
mem

You might want to join the yahoo group that discusses late model Berninas ([email protected]). In addition to answering your question, I know they'll be helpful when you actually get your machine.

Even though the last number in the name is 730, they've been talking a lot about the 750 and 780 lately.