Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: cameo silhouette questions

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    422
    Blog Entries
    12

    cameo silhouette questions

    I just got the cameo for Christmas! Now to make it work for me. We cut out the free sample given with the machine, but I have applique kits that I would like to cut using the machine. How do I get the patterns from the kit into the Cameo? Does that sound too dumb? I think I have to scan them into my computer then send to Cameo, but thought someone here may know for sure. Thanks, I know you can help me. Bobbie

  2. #2
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    11,157
    Blog Entries
    2
    there seems to be several youtube videos. You might want to start there.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  3. #3
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,766
    Blog Entries
    1
    You use your computer and the program that came with the Cameo (you can also download it from the Silhouette website). You would have to open the graphic files in the software, and then trace them, then send that to the cameo to cut (you connect the cameo to your computer using a printer type cord). If the applique shapes are on a pattern or something, then yes, you would need to scan them. I've never done it so I don't know about how to keep them the same size, etc. There is a grid in the software that corresponds to the mat and you can resize shapes pretty easily too.

  4. #4
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    6,106
    I think you have to bring them up in the software and do a trace on them, but make sure to test first because the new software has been having some sizing issues , and my FIL stuff has not been coming out the size he wants. I am sure there are groups on the silhouette that you can join on facebook or yahoo that could help you more
    Brother (XL-3500i, CV3550, SQ-9050, Dreamweaver XE6200D), Juki MO-2000QVP, Handiquilter Avante

  5. #5
    Super Member Weezy Rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,159
    The Silhouette also has PixScan. Works pretty well. You can actually use your cell camera. Takes a bit of practice but easy once you get the hang of it.
    http://www.silhouetteamerica.com/pixscan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.