Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Can I recover the thread on my bobbin on my Baby Lock? >

Can I recover the thread on my bobbin on my Baby Lock?

Can I recover the thread on my bobbin on my Baby Lock?

Old 12-26-2018, 03:03 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 28
Unhappy Can I recover the thread on my bobbin on my Baby Lock?

I made a mistake while bobbin winding on my Babylock Soprano. I'm low on thread-new quilters mistake- and I'm wondering if there is anyway to save it. I was on a roll, making blocks!! Any Babylock users have any advice?? I think I had the thread starting from the top position. Its all lose on the bobbin!!
Ms Morgan is offline  
Old 12-26-2018, 03:23 PM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 64
Default

I've had this happen with my Viking and I put the loosely wound bobbin on the thread spool and wind it onto another bobbin.
FGlinda is offline  
Old 12-26-2018, 03:32 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 28
Default

And a picture of the bobbinimg_3111.jpg
Ms Morgan is offline  
Old 12-26-2018, 03:33 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3,470
Default

Originally Posted by FGlinda View Post
I've had this happen with my Viking and I put the loosely wound bobbin on the thread spool and wind it onto another bobbin.
Just exactly what I have done!!!

I would also wind it slowly.
Maggie_Sue is offline  
Old 12-26-2018, 03:35 PM
  #5  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Southern USA
Posts: 12,075
Default

Originally Posted by FGlinda View Post
I've had this happen with my Viking and I put the loosely wound bobbin on the thread spool and wind it onto another bobbin.
I do this too. Even sew with half filled bobbins instead of a spool of thread to use up the bobbins.
Onebyone is offline  
Old 12-26-2018, 03:43 PM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 28
Default

Thanks all, I'll try that!
Ms Morgan is offline  
Old 12-26-2018, 04:06 PM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,055
Default

Thanks Onebyone! what a clever idea. I have several that I need to use your tip with. Have been using them to hand sew bindings and such but going to try and sew with them. What a great idea. Grammasharon

Originally Posted by Onebyone View Post
I do this too. Even sew with half filled bobbins instead of a spool of thread to use up the bobbins.
grammasharon is offline  
Old 12-26-2018, 04:11 PM
  #8  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Finger Lakes of upstate NY
Posts: 2,779
Default

Well that's a great solution! I've been sewing for a looonng time, starting in 4H, and never thought of it. Thanks for passing on what probably seems obvious!
peaceandjoy is offline  
Old 12-26-2018, 04:28 PM
  #9  
Power Poster
 
Jingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Outside St. Louis
Posts: 36,017
Default

It looks way too loose to me. I have sewn with bobbins thread too.
Jingle is offline  
Old 12-26-2018, 05:14 PM
  #10  
Super Member
 
GEMRM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: South West Ontario
Posts: 2,234
Default

In a learning to sew class I help with, we wind thread onto a bobbin to use as the spool - it means we don't have to have a spool of thread for each machine...we have a bit of a budget crunch in the program!
GEMRM is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
skothing
Pictures
24
07-16-2011 03:05 AM
lhavelka
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
0
06-19-2011 05:59 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.