Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 6 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Can you really make a quilt in a day?

Blog Entries

Can you really make a quilt in a day?

I just figured up all the time I spent cutting, sewing, quilting and finishing my first lap quilt. I counted up 35 hours, give or take a couple of hours. I know I'm a quilting newbie, but I've been sewing for a long time, so I know my way around the sewing room. I started wondering, is it really possible to make a quilt in a day? Is Eleanor Burns really saying you can make a quilt in a day or is that just a figure of speech?

I think those that don't work probably could make a quilt in a day.

Elanor's first book was a log cabin block, and yes, you can make that one in a day, all day, from start to finish. Not all of her quilt patterns can be done that fast, but her methods are usually a lot faster than doing things the traditional way.

I have run across a couple of patterns that if everything is cut the day before you can sew the *top* in one day. But a top is not a quilt.

Blog Entries
    A jelly roll race quilt top can be made in under two hours using a pre cut jelly roll. It can be sandwiched and turned and tied quilted in about 2 hours so a completed quilt can be made in less then 5 hours. Some of my guild members can make the whole Jelly roll race quilt in less then two hours. Some make the quilt top in under 45 min.

video here: http://blog.heirloomcreations.net/?p=1897
    Got fabric?

Blog Entries
    Some days I think I work pretty fast and get a lot done. Other days I wonder what the heck I did all day. I don't work and I've yet to make a quilt "top" in a day. LOL
    Joyce