Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Can you really make a quilt in a day? >

Can you really make a quilt in a day?

Can you really make a quilt in a day?

Old 02-16-2012, 10:41 AM

Default Can you really make a quilt in a day?

I just figured up all the time I spent cutting, sewing, quilting and finishing my first lap quilt. I counted up 35 hours, give or take a couple of hours. I know I'm a quilting newbie, but I've been sewing for a long time, so I know my way around the sewing room. I started wondering, is it really possible to make a quilt in a day? Is Eleanor Burns really saying you can make a quilt in a day or is that just a figure of speech?
Old 02-16-2012, 10:44 AM

I think those that don't work probably could make a quilt in a day.
Old 02-16-2012, 10:49 AM

Elanor's first book was a log cabin block, and yes, you can make that one in a day, all day, from start to finish. Not all of her quilt patterns can be done that fast, but her methods are usually a lot faster than doing things the traditional way.
Old 02-16-2012, 10:54 AM

I have run across a couple of patterns that if everything is cut the day before you can sew the *top* in one day. But a top is not a quilt.
Old 02-16-2012, 10:54 AM
Power Poster

A jelly roll race quilt top can be made in under two hours using a pre cut jelly roll. It can be sandwiched and turned and tied quilted in about 2 hours so a completed quilt can be made in less then 5 hours. Some of my guild members can make the whole Jelly roll race quilt in less then two hours. Some make the quilt top in under 45 min.

video here: http://blog.heirloomcreations.net/?p=1897
Old 02-16-2012, 10:58 AM
Power Poster

Some days I think I work pretty fast and get a lot done. Other days I wonder what the heck I did all day. I don't work and I've yet to make a quilt "top" in a day. LOL
Old 02-16-2012, 11:01 AM