Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Cutting border fabric >

Cutting border fabric

Cutting border fabric

Old 09-17-2011, 08:11 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 55
Default

Just wondering how all of you cut your border fabric in one piece...say about 60 inches long. Do you use a rotary cutter or scissors? I'm struggling with this...not having any success with the rotary cutter.
Hurricane is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 08:14 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Upper Michigan
Posts: 8,248
Default

I never have. Just sew strip together.don't know how u would do that. Did u check you tube? Thought I saw a tute once on it. Was one continous piece.
Painiacs is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 08:17 PM
  #3  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 16,852
Default

Originally Posted by Hurricane
Just wondering how all of you cut your border fabric in one piece...say about 60 inches long. Do you use a rotary cutter or scissors? I'm struggling with this...not having any success with the rotary cutter.
I use the rotary for most everything as it will give a much more evener cut.

If you're having problems, perhaps is it time to put in a new blade?

Usually I would not cut a full 60" strip ... rather I'd cut and join.
If two pieces, join in the centre.
If three, I'd put WOF in the centre, with short pieces on each side to make the full 60".

How and what I'd do, would be dependent on how long the other side is, and whether there are joins. Also, how many borders I'm working with. You want to change where the seams are on each layer of the border, so they are less noticeable that they'd be if they were stacked up on each other with each seam aligning.
QuiltE is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 08:18 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Gramie bj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Riverside Washington
Posts: 1,508
Default

I fold my fabric from end to end then cut with long straight edge and my rotary cutter. I got my straight edge from Home Depto in the tool dept. it's about 5 foot long made of metal.
Gramie bj is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 08:20 PM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
Posts: 6,726
Default

Originally Posted by QuiltE
Originally Posted by Hurricane
Just wondering how all of you cut your border fabric in one piece...say about 60 inches long. Do you use a rotary cutter or scissors? I'm struggling with this...not having any success with the rotary cutter.
I use the rotary for most everything as it will give a much more evener cut.

If you're having problems, perhaps is it time to put in a new blade?

Usually I would not cut a full 60" strip ... rather I'd cut and join.
If two pieces, join in the centre.
If three, I'd put WOF in the centre, with short pieces on each side to make the full 60".

How and what I'd do, would be dependent on how long the other side is, and whether there are joins. Also, how many borders I'm working with. You want to change where the seams are on each layer of the border, so they are less noticeable that they'd be if they were stacked up on each other with each seam aligning.
:thumbup:
auntpiggylpn is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 08:30 PM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 55
Default

Thanks for all the suggestions.
Hurricane is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 12:25 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
sew_southern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 870
Default

Originally Posted by Gramie bj
I fold my fabric from end to end then cut with long straight edge and my rotary cutter. I got my straight edge from Home Depto in the tool dept. it's about 5 foot long made of metal.
I also fold mine from end to end and use my rotary cutter with my omnigrid ruler and 18x24 mat. Haven't had any problems as long as my blade is not dull.
sew_southern is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 12:27 AM
  #8  
Super Member
 
Glassquilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northeast IL
Posts: 2,064
Default

Lengthwise - parallel to the selvage. I'll cut that first so I have the longest pieces possible and I make sure that the seams are not at any corner.
Glassquilt is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 12:57 AM
  #9  
Super Member
 
Rose L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nebraska..The Good Life
Posts: 2,102
Default

I just finished a quilt top yesterday that has seven borders. The last border was 7.5 x 88. I folded my fabric end to end so until there were 8 layers to cut. I then put in a NEW rotary blade. Cut through all the layers (parallel to the selvage)like it was butter. I will admit that I was nervous when I cut that last one but it worked out fine. I think a new, sharp blade was the key to success. I used a 6x24 ruler on a 23x35 inch mat.
Rose L is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 03:23 AM
  #10  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 12,430
Default

if you want to cut your borders lengthwise you need to carefully fold your fabric into a manageble size- make sure you line up the folds well- trim the edge so it is nice and even- line up on the folded edge and cut your borders to the width you need-
or you can use a ruler with your fabric opened up and using chalk/pencil/or some other marking tool and draw the line the width you need then cut on the line with scissors
ckcowl is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
michelleoc
Main
9
07-11-2014 04:13 PM
plmokn
Main
29
08-09-2013 09:05 AM
Dee Dee
Main
11
07-11-2012 06:34 PM
AFQSinc
Main
15
06-19-2012 12:35 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.