Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Cutting border fabric

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Southern New Jersey
    Posts
    58
    Just wondering how all of you cut your border fabric in one piece...say about 60 inches long. Do you use a rotary cutter or scissors? I'm struggling with this...not having any success with the rotary cutter.

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    8,604
    Blog Entries
    14
    I never have. Just sew strip together.don't know how u would do that. Did u check you tube? Thought I saw a tute once on it. Was one continous piece.

  3. #3
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    15,124
    Quote Originally Posted by Hurricane
    Just wondering how all of you cut your border fabric in one piece...say about 60 inches long. Do you use a rotary cutter or scissors? I'm struggling with this...not having any success with the rotary cutter.
    I use the rotary for most everything as it will give a much more evener cut.

    If you're having problems, perhaps is it time to put in a new blade?

    Usually I would not cut a full 60" strip ... rather I'd cut and join.
    If two pieces, join in the centre.
    If three, I'd put WOF in the centre, with short pieces on each side to make the full 60".

    How and what I'd do, would be dependent on how long the other side is, and whether there are joins. Also, how many borders I'm working with. You want to change where the seams are on each layer of the border, so they are less noticeable that they'd be if they were stacked up on each other with each seam aligning.

  4. #4
    Super Member Gramie bj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Riverside Washington
    Posts
    1,512
    I fold my fabric from end to end then cut with long straight edge and my rotary cutter. I got my straight edge from Home Depto in the tool dept. it's about 5 foot long made of metal.

  5. #5
    Super Member auntpiggylpn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
    Posts
    6,913
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by QuiltE
    Quote Originally Posted by Hurricane
    Just wondering how all of you cut your border fabric in one piece...say about 60 inches long. Do you use a rotary cutter or scissors? I'm struggling with this...not having any success with the rotary cutter.
    I use the rotary for most everything as it will give a much more evener cut.

    If you're having problems, perhaps is it time to put in a new blade?

    Usually I would not cut a full 60" strip ... rather I'd cut and join.
    If two pieces, join in the centre.
    If three, I'd put WOF in the centre, with short pieces on each side to make the full 60".

    How and what I'd do, would be dependent on how long the other side is, and whether there are joins. Also, how many borders I'm working with. You want to change where the seams are on each layer of the border, so they are less noticeable that they'd be if they were stacked up on each other with each seam aligning.
    :thumbup:

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Southern New Jersey
    Posts
    58
    Thanks for all the suggestions.

  7. #7
    Senior Member sew_southern's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Chattanooga, Tennessee
    Posts
    870
    Quote Originally Posted by Gramie bj
    I fold my fabric from end to end then cut with long straight edge and my rotary cutter. I got my straight edge from Home Depto in the tool dept. it's about 5 foot long made of metal.
    I also fold mine from end to end and use my rotary cutter with my omnigrid ruler and 18x24 mat. Haven't had any problems as long as my blade is not dull.

  8. #8
    Super Member Glassquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Northeast IL
    Posts
    2,064
    Blog Entries
    1
    Lengthwise - parallel to the selvage. I'll cut that first so I have the longest pieces possible and I make sure that the seams are not at any corner.

  9. #9
    Super Member Rose L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Nebraska..The Good Life
    Posts
    2,142
    Blog Entries
    1
    I just finished a quilt top yesterday that has seven borders. The last border was 7.5 x 88. I folded my fabric end to end so until there were 8 layers to cut. I then put in a NEW rotary blade. Cut through all the layers (parallel to the selvage)like it was butter. I will admit that I was nervous when I cut that last one but it worked out fine. I think a new, sharp blade was the key to success. I used a 6x24 ruler on a 23x35 inch mat.

  10. #10
    Power Poster ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    11,306
    Blog Entries
    1
    if you want to cut your borders lengthwise you need to carefully fold your fabric into a manageble size- make sure you line up the folds well- trim the edge so it is nice and even- line up on the folded edge and cut your borders to the width you need-
    or you can use a ruler with your fabric opened up and using chalk/pencil/or some other marking tool and draw the line the width you need then cut on the line with scissors

  11. #11
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    5,055
    Blog Entries
    1
    If your borders are coming out crooked then your fabric isnt squared. I used to have this problem all of the time. It's a pain to have to square and my hardest problem was you lose some fabric but at least you aren't losing fabric because it's curvy. My one teacher only tears her borders; she says it's the easiest and you'll always get them straight.

  12. #12
    Super Member ghostrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4,662
    I cut my borders lengthwise cuz I really don't like to have joining seams in borders. I have an 81" table that I lay the fabric out on, folded selvage to selvage. I slide a 24" cutting mat under the fabric along the edge I'm cutting and use my 24" ruler. If I need more than 81", I carefully slide the fabric down and continue the cut. Cutting that way, there's no risk of elbows from folds and I cut the two side/end borders at the same time.

  13. #13
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,492
    Blog Entries
    2
    I rip it.

  14. #14
    Super Member DogHouseMom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Knot Merrill, Southern Indiana
    Posts
    5,736
    I prefer to cut lenghtwise if I have enough fabric. Fold it so that it is squared up - no ripples in the fold line. Make your first cut (to cut off selvedges) a generous cut. Before you make another cut - pick up your first cut and check each fold line to make sure you don't have the dreaded V. If you do, re-fold.

    Cut one piece at a time, check each piece for the dreaded V before you cut the next!!

    And use a brand new rotary blade.

  15. #15
    Senior Member humbird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    975
    Rip it!

  16. #16
    Senior Member Granny Quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    WY
    Posts
    995
    I use the rotary cutter and cut the whole length if I have the fabric, which I would if I bought it for the quilt.. I did a kit and it didn't have enough to do in one strip so had to piece.

  17. #17
    Super Member TerryQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Vista, CA
    Posts
    1,515
    I piece my borders. If you do a diagnal seam you can hardly see it.

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Southern New Jersey
    Posts
    58
    Thanks for all the tips everyone! I definitely will follow them.

  19. #19
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Enid, OK
    Posts
    8,922
    Blog Entries
    1
    I tear my fabric usually 1/2" wider than I need..works perfect every time!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.