Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Denim quilts

I am a new quilter. I was recently given several boxes of pre cut squares of old jeans fabric. Does anyone have suggestions as to how to use this bounty? I would appreciate any and all suggestions. Thanks.

Those denim squares would be great for a raggy quilt, but be prepared it will be very heavy. Happy sewing :-)

Hi, I'm new to this but seen your email. I've made some quilts out of old jeans and I just did the rag quilt method with flannel for the back. Grandkids just love them. Judy

I made my denim quilt before I even knew what rag quilts were. I pieced the top from denim, used batting, and chose a bright berry fabric for the backing. My family uses it as a picnic quilt, it is a favorite. The quilt is very sturdy, and grass falls right off easily when packing up. Be sure to use a backing that won't show dirt! The only downer is that the bulk required that it be a tied quilt, which I am not fond of. Sometimes when the kids are sick in the winter they want to cuddle with the picnic blanket!!!

Hope that helps!

Thanks for the information...this will be the next one.

I made a denim quilt using squares. Sew with wrong sides together, about 1/2"...then cut slits (on the right side) to make them fray when washed. I wash them about two times, but be prepared for lots of raveling. No backing was used.