Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Do I paper piece this? Is there a pattern?

I don't know what this star/cross is called. My friend just had her leg amputated due to diabetes. She asked me to make her a quilt for her bed to match her tatoo. It is a butterfly with five start/crosses around it. She says the stars are "The power of five" Her deceased grandmother, mother, daughter, herself and her living grandaughter. She wants black and whites and primary colored butterflies. However, her husband has to sleep under it, so I am trying different options to keep it toned down. The attached is just one of the possibilities. I used tiger skin fabric to make butterflies and will applique them on. My 1st question: The stars - Do I paper piece them? (I've never done it before, but I will learn to do this if that's best).

This may or may not be the final design - any suggestions?
    Name:  Attachment-83004.jpe
Views: 94
Size:  1.49 MB

I'd paper piece the block then applique the butterfly on it.

Blog Entries
    I agree paper piece the star and applique the butterfly :wink: Do you have an embroidery machine ? That is also an option

I don't have an embroidery machine but the tigers skin fabric makes awesome monarch butterflies. Very dramatic. Is there a pattern for this cross or is it considered a star?

I would use a Five Pointed Star and probably paper piece it but I might applique it instead. How large is it going to be?

Pam
    I would go with the 5 pointed star, is sounds like this has special meaning to her (?) Or did I get that wrong?. Paper piecing is the way to go with any of these complex stars. While the one you have shown is very pretty, it is a traditional mariner's compass. Can you sneak us a picture of her tatoo?