Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Dumb question maybe >

Dumb question maybe

Dumb question maybe

Old 05-01-2010, 10:04 AM

Okay guys, since all my work has been pretty much self taught, and I've never worked with any other quilter either, my question pertains to marking the topside for quilting. I realize that with free motion, you wouldn't be doing that, but otherwise, if you are going to be working with specific designs how do you mark your quilt top?

Thanks for your input.
Old 05-01-2010, 10:15 AM

Gads, I've done it so many different ways, that it is hard to say just one.

1] I used the Golden Threads paper (you cn either get it at a LQS or online) and traced out my design, pinned it to the quilt and sewed. then I had to tear off the paper and make sure no paper was left behind.

2] Used wash away stabilizer, quilted, spritzed it and removed it. Once I actually did wash it away as my h ands were sore.

3] Used an air pen to mark the design and quilted it. This method is best for small areas at a time - or a small project.

4] Traced the design on regular paper and then just free hand quilted referring to this design.

5] If I knew I was going to wash the quilt after I finished, then I have sometimes used a washaway pencil.

6] I haven't really tried Pounce yet.

Have fun.
Old 05-01-2010, 10:25 AM

I've used all the different ways the AliKat mentioned. Plus I've used slivers of soap (ordinary grocery or drug store soaps, not fancy type soaps) to mark lines on quilt tops. White soap on dark colors, colored soap on white/light fabrics. I've had no problems since I don't press too hard.
Old 05-01-2010, 10:37 AM

I have used the Pounce on 2 small quilts and liked it pretty good. I haven't tried anything else because I FMQ.
Old 05-01-2010, 11:10 AM

Thanks for your replies. I will keep these in mind for future reference. I always wondered how in the world you make the design come out right, especially on the borders.