Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Embroidery Thread VS Trilobal Thread VS ? >

Embroidery Thread VS Trilobal Thread VS ?

Embroidery Thread VS Trilobal Thread VS ?

Old 10-08-2019, 06:27 AM

Default Embroidery Thread VS Trilobal Thread VS ?

I am looking at purchasing a set of thread so I have a lot of colours to choose from for thread painting.

Is polyester machine embroidery thread OK? There are lots of those sets available and they look lovely.

There are also Polyester Trilobal sets available and they look nice...shinier...but much more expensive.

They both seem to be 40 weight.

Will the polyester embroidery be OK?

I read the Superior Threads page, but still wasn't clear, so am asking here.

Watson
Old 10-08-2019, 07:00 AM

I haven't done any thread painting but I've been doing machine embroidery for a few years. I purchased the ThreadArt sets of thread from Amazon because the price was good and I figured it was worth a try. I really like the thread and have since purchased every colour they have in their machine embroidery thread. I've only quilted a couple of quilts now, but used the ThreadArt thread top and bottom and didn't have any problems with it. Their thread is nice and shiny and they have a huge selection of colours. The thread sets on Amazon are spools of 500 m and on the website they sell 1000 m spools. The thread is so affordable, you can have whatever colour you want without spending a small fortune. I figure if it can withstand the rigours of machine embroidery, the sewing machine would be a breeze. I attached a picture of a close up of the back of a jean jacket I embroidered for a friend who loves flowers. I'm hoping it will give you an idea of the colour and sheen on this thread.
Attached Thumbnails yanas.jpg  
Old 10-08-2019, 07:02 AM
Power Poster

Many threads marketed to quilters actually started as being marketed as embroidery threads, most of which are trilobal polyesters. Among them are Glide and Isacord.