Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Equalizing Shrinkage Between the Quilt Top, Batting & Backing - One Block Wonder >

Equalizing Shrinkage Between the Quilt Top, Batting & Backing - One Block Wonder

Equalizing Shrinkage Between the Quilt Top, Batting & Backing - One Block Wonder

Old 07-08-2011, 08:00 AM

What to do, what to do, what to do?
After reading many posts on the Quilting Board, it appears that a lot of folks are fans of pre-shrinking everything - fabrics and batting too. And then there are others who make quilts without preshrinking anything. I’m new to serious quilting and am feeling confused.
I finally finished the quilt top for my daughter’s One Block Wonder. In this type of quilt construction, the fabrics are intentionally not preshrunk. But now I’m a bit afraid to continue for fear I will use the wrong batting and end up with a wonky quilt the first time it is washed. Below, I’ve included a picture of the fabric which is one of Robert Kaufman’s Japanese prints in 100% cotton.
So here are some questions that hopefully you will be able to shed some light on:
1. What is the best type of batting to use between a quilt top and backing if the fabric has not been preshrunk?
2. At what point in this quilt's creation process is it best to wash the quilt top, back, and batting? Should I even wash it at all? Right now my daughter intends to use it as a wall hanging, but it is also made to take down and use as a throw.
3. I steamed the heck out of the quilt top as it was being sewn together. Does that mean that the top is now preshrunk?
I’d appreciate any advice you all might have.

Robert Kaufman Asian fabric in Antique Colorway
[ATTACH=CONFIG]222919[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails attachment-222913.jpe  
Old 07-08-2011, 08:08 AM

When I took a class on OBW, we were told not to pre-wash the fabric when makng a OBW because you are trying to find exact landmarks on different layers. BTW, I did it with almost the same fabric and it is very pretty.