Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: extension cord on a sweet 16?

  1. #1
    Senior Member qwkslver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    584

    Question extension cord on a sweet 16?

    Does anyone use extension cords on their quilters? My manual says do not but I distinctly remember hearing the ladies with the Bailey quilters talking about using spiral extension cords. I'm plugging directly to the wall now but I would sure like to use a cord so I could move farther away from the wall outlet. What do ya'll do?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Central Indiana
    Posts
    973
    My machine is in the middle of the room so I have to use a heavy duty extension cord. I actually have it plugged into a surge protector strip and then the machine into that strip and I never leave it on if I am not quilting. Have done this for years now and all is well even with all the storms we get here in central Indiana.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    New York City/Manhattan
    Posts
    1,325
    you just want to be careful so you don't void any warranty.

  4. #4
    Senior Member qwkslver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    584
    I unplug mine when not in use. I think they are thinking it would be a fire hazard but if I'm not right there using mine it is unplugged (because of the computerized stuff on it). We have electrical storms here too. Thank you for your input.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    484
    All of my machines (and I have too many!) are plugged into a power strip and some then are pugged into an extension cord into the power strip. I've never had any problem. I do turn off power strips when done for the day.

  6. #6
    Power Poster feline fanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    10,148
    Quote Originally Posted by ka9sdn View Post
    My machine is in the middle of the room so I have to use a heavy duty extension cord. I actually have it plugged into a surge protector strip and then the machine into that strip and I never leave it on if I am not quilting. Have done this for years now and all is well even with all the storms we get here in central Indiana.
    This is how my Innova is set up as well.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    7,514
    I use a power surge strip for every thing in my sewing room.
    Linda

  8. #8
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,449
    Blog Entries
    20
    I also use heavy duty serge protectors for everything. Years ago I lost a refrigerator and two televisions during a storm.
    Sadiemae

  9. #9
    Super Member Havplenty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MO (the Show Me state)
    Posts
    2,980
    Blog Entries
    8
    i would make sure it is a heavy duty extension cord not the thinner ones but more the orange ones that one would use for power tools. i have my machines and all of my electronics for that matter, plugged into surge protectors that use grounded plugs (3-prong). i forgot to plug my former 1800 watt rowenta into a power surge protector and it got so hot (possibly for an electrical surge) that it burned itself up. i smelled it burning but was too late to save it. i spent over $150.00 for that iron so i was a bit miffed at myself. now i have three surge protectors in my sewing area.
    My Quiltboard Blog
    ~Joy is what happens when we allow ourselves to recognize how good things really are..(Marianne Williamson)
    ~If you can't change your fate, change your attitude.(Amy Tan)
    ~As long as one keeps searching, the answers come.(Joan Baez)



  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,908
    My Gammill is plugged into an industrial strength extension cord that was given to me by the seller of the unit. I DO unplug it completely when I'm not using it. I learned my lesson about storms here a long time ago!
    If you feel like you're special...it's 'cause you are!
    Momto5

  11. #11
    Senior Member qwkslver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    584
    We lived in SC a couple of years. The storms down there are loud and scary. We didn't have anything happen electronically though (thank goodness).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.