Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Featherweights from Great Britain >

Featherweights from Great Britain

Featherweights from Great Britain

Old 03-14-2010, 06:20 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
grammyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,474
Default

I have been looking at featherweights and was just wondering, do the featherweights made in Great Britain (or outside the US) require a transformer to operate in the US?
grammyp is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 06:35 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 3,918
Default

Some were made in GB for sale in the US, those don't need transformers. Don't ask me which models but I know all the motors were marked with the voltage they used.
MaryStoaks is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 07:04 PM
  #3  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
grammyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,474
Default

Thanks, that helps me out a lot. I had to use a transformer when we lived in Germany and think it affected the motor on my machine.
grammyp is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 07:49 PM
  #4  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SW Iowa
Posts: 32,856
Default

I know my Pfaff has a switch to change it to US voltage. For some reason that tickled me. Don't know why. Just struck me funny.
littlehud is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 06:11 AM
  #5  
Super Member
 
May in Jersey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,521
Default

My White Featherweight was made in Great Britain in 1963, no problem with the current. May in Jersey
May in Jersey is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 09:23 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
Oklahoma Suzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Home town: Rehoboth, MA Now living in OK
Posts: 7,774
Default

great info, thanks
Oklahoma Suzie is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 09:59 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Crafty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 1,266
Default

Some may require a converter to work in the US. US uses 110v and UK uses 220v.
Crafty1 is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 06:58 AM
  #8  
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bikini Bottom
Posts: 5,652
Default

You can change the motor out to 110v or you can buy a step up converter for $30 or so.

Billy
Lostn51 is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 07:35 AM
  #9  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: la la land
Posts: 2,140
Default

my husband is an electrician and he told me not to buy foreign because of the electricial issue. so i figure he knows best! :lol:
alaskasunshine is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Caroline94535
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
2
08-08-2015 02:06 AM
Ditter43
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
12
06-10-2015 07:20 AM
mrsmail
Main
20
08-09-2011 08:01 AM
ccthomas
Links and Resources
14
08-06-2011 10:03 AM
PrettyKitty
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
16
05-19-2009 07:23 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter