Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: FMQ and bobbin orientation question

FMQ and bobbin orientation question

Hey all,
    Any one noticed any difference in the quality of their FMQing when using a machine with a horizontal bobbin versus one with a vertical bobbin?

I'm checking out new machines and have noticed that I have to be much more careful about hand speed to avoid eyelashing on the backside when using machines with a horizontal drop in bobbin--I've noticed it especially on the Viking Sapphire machines that I've test-driven.

I've never had that problem with my 34 year old Brother which has a vertical bobbin and I've quilted lots of quilts over the years on it.

Thanks,
    Rob

I have a Janome 6600 with horizontal drop bobbin case and I haven't
    had any eyelash problem and I'm new at FMQing.

Quote Originally Posted by EasyPeezy View Post
    I have a Janome 6600 with horizontal drop bobbin case and I haven't
    had any eyelash problem and I'm new at FMQing.
    Thanks,
    I was FMQ doodling on the Viking Sapphires in the local Joann's and noticed it when I turned the sample over and looked at the back. Could just be user error since I was playing on an unfamiliar machine.

I have been quilting on my Bernina 1530 (vertical bobbin) for over 15 years and never had a problem with FMQ. It may just be a lark. I find that eyelashes appear when one is speeding moving the quilt faster than the machine can stitch especial around curves.
    A Good Friend, like an old quilt, is both a Treasure and a Comfort

Quote Originally Posted by ManiacQuilter2 View Post