Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
FMQ patterns to mimic ocean waves..... >

FMQ patterns to mimic ocean waves.....

FMQ patterns to mimic ocean waves.....

Old 10-04-2012, 06:15 PM

Default FMQ patterns to mimic ocean waves.....

I am working on a bargello quilt. it is shades of blues for an "ocean" theme. The pieces are 1,1/2 - 2,1/2" in size. The pattern goes up and down mimicing waves. That is the one side and the other side is an Orca whale (real looking) fabric. It is a twin size quilt.

What is a good FMQ pattern to use for a very beginner with a regular machine? The quilt has to be soft and cuddly... I know I need to do a wide space stitch. I know meandering, but was wondering if there was another pattern that might mimic waves that is easy to learn/do. I am not good at following lines..can't figure that one out, but I 'm not. Thanks for any suggestions
Old 10-04-2012, 06:40 PM

Eddie did a quilt called Surf Song and quilted along each color diagonally from corner to corner. Here's a link. It looks great! http://www.quiltingboard.com/picture...22-t35462.html

Depending on the style of the pattern, you may be able to use a walking foot to do the same type of pattern.

As for FMQ, google clip art of ocean waves and print something out. Or you could freehand some C shaped waves in rows. There are a few ways to handle that once you pick a pattern. You could mark the quilt directly; you could trace it onto Golden Threads paper and follow the lines, quilting right thru the paper or you could trace the design onto Sulky Solvy and quilt directly thru that. I never draw directly on the quilt myself. The only time I did that was to draw the scallops on a border, but I was cutting on the line, not quilting. I'd rather not take the time to remove my markings after.