Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Freddy and Gwen 1937 Revisted??? >

Freddy and Gwen 1937 Revisted???

Freddy and Gwen 1937 Revisted???

Old 07-11-2010, 01:45 PM

Hello,
I am a newbie posting here, so hello to everyone!
I was at the Sisters Quilt Show yesterday and saw a darling quilt from the Freddy and Gwen Collabrative Quilting Book, so I went into Bend and found the book so I could make the quilt. The quilt name is 1937 Revisted and although the directions to make the quilt blocks is very straight forward there is no dimensions on the size the strip pieced rectangle should be. I would assume the horizontal side would be either 42 or 44, but how long should it be? The strips are supposed to vary from 1 to 3 inches- but does anyone know how "tall" I should make the panel? I also assume you are supposed to use scraps to make this, but I have some specific fabric in mind I want to use for this quilt, and I have no idea of how much total yardage I should end up with for the blocks (not counting the sashing- that I can figure out).
Anyway, sorry for the long winded post, but if anyone has any advice for me I would appreciate it!
Thanks!
Molly
Old 07-11-2010, 06:03 PM

What's it look like? I haven't seen it so it's hard to picture.
Old 07-11-2010, 06:05 PM

Can't help. Envious of you getting to Two Sisters. Also welcome from Alaska.
Old 07-11-2010, 06:08 PM

I have no way to upload an image, sadly. Here is a link to the picture from the book- http://books.google.com/books?id=uks...0quilt&f=false

The instructions for the quilt start on page 86.

Thanks for your help!
Old 07-11-2010, 06:09 PM

Fran,
I was born in Anchorage. I still have family there- my Grandmother was born there as well- back when it was still a tent town!
Old 07-11-2010, 06:26 PM