Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
free motion >

free motion

free motion

Old 09-12-2011, 11:42 AM

I went to a free motion class and I'm a beginner at quilting. Have taken some quilting classes and they seem to be ok. How long does it take a person to be able to do free motion? They said lots of practice but I don't know.Thanks for any replies. I have some quilt tops I need to do.
Old 09-12-2011, 11:43 AM

I did two twin size quilts for my first FMQ. I have learned a lot since then, but it was about 5 years ago too. I don't know how long it will take you, but just jump in and start.
Old 09-12-2011, 11:49 AM

I've tried and tried and still not good at it...2 yrs...try to avoid it and use most of my built in quilting FM stitches that my machine does. Maybe if I didn't have those I'd practice more
Old 09-12-2011, 11:53 AM

I"ve thought of that but how do you set your machine up and what fancy stitches do you use? My machine has all kinds of fancy stitches.
Old 09-12-2011, 11:56 AM

I didn't find FMQ difficult, just tiring. You have to be relaxed and in a good frame of mind. I find it tough on my shoulders and neck....probably because I tense up while doing it. I have a Pfaff 7570 (which I wouldn't give up for the world) and I also do some quilting with the embroidery unit combined with FMQ.
Old 09-12-2011, 12:04 PM