Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Good, Beginner's Sewing Machine? >

Good, Beginner's Sewing Machine?

Good, Beginner's Sewing Machine?

Old 04-14-2013, 08:49 AM

Default Good, Beginner's Sewing Machine?

Hi, all.

I'm looking for a sturdy, reliable machine to being quilting on. My family had one when I was very small, but it was broken by accident. I have no idea what kind it was.

I've been scouring the web all weekend, but it seems that just as I find a machine to fit the bill (my poor wallet), the reviews convince me otherwise. It seems to be about a fifty-fifty split on most of them, too.

As mentioned previously, I'm looking for a machine that will be reliable and easy to use, since I'm a greenhorn. Low cost would be a bonus, since I'm a full time student. What types of machines do you all use? What do you suggest?
Old 04-14-2013, 08:56 AM
Power Poster

I would suggest a older Singer 301 or Singer 400 series. They are made to last and easy to clean and oil. They make great first machines and will last to be your back up machine years from now. They are usually $50-$100. Read the reviews on these machines. I think you will be surprised. No bells and whistles but great stitches and very reliable.
Old 04-14-2013, 08:57 AM

I just got about a month or so ago a brother sq 9050 and I really like it. It's got lots of stitches and quilting functions. However not a big throat but I will hand quilt most of my quilts.
Old 04-14-2013, 09:12 AM

I would get a used machine from a reliable quilt shop. Most of them have trade-ins and will allow you to test drive the machines before purchasing. They will also know the reliability of the machines they have.

Happy quilting!!
Old 04-14-2013, 09:26 AM

Check out www. Tuesday Morning.com. Compare to www.amazon.com for a small Singer.
Old 04-14-2013, 09:41 AM