Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Hand quilting >

Hand quilting

Hand quilting

Old 12-19-2009, 06:23 AM

I am very new to quilting (less than 6 months). I would like to start learning how to hand quilt. Are there any "rules" that govern what color thread (s) that can be use on a multi colored quilt. Can I use just one color or should I try to match the individual colors in the quilt? Will the various colors that might be used to match the top affect how the backing of the quilt will look? Many thanks for any advice.
Old 12-19-2009, 06:48 AM

With Hand Quilting, it is your preference what color you use. I usually use a white or ecru thread on everything. It depends on what you want it to look like. Mostly we want to see the effect of the quilting, but not the actual stitches, so we use a thread that blends in. I personally do not like to use black on black because these old eyes cannot see where I have been when the quilt is in the frame. It is the most difficult to work with. If you want to change colors when you are quilting the top to match the color of the fabric on top, use a multicolored fabric on the back to make it less noticeable there. But if you want to see it, use a solid fabrciback. It is your quilt, you can do anything you want. If you are entering it in a contest, check their rules!
Old 12-19-2009, 06:49 AM

I also use one color of thread throughout. My favorite thread is YLI -- it's wonderful!! No tangles with this thread either!

If you need a specific color (like purple), I'd use Dual Duty thread. If the thread you're using tangles, you can get one of those inexpensive "bee wax" circles and run your thread over it before use.
Old 12-19-2009, 07:00 AM
Power Poster