Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Hand Sewing a binding on & my fingers hurt.

This is just a table runner & I have only done 1 side. I can't believe how sore my thumb especially is from pushing the needle in & through the cotton.
    What can I buy or use so that I can continue to do some hand sewing? I bought a thimble but I can't seem to keep it over the sore spot.

I will be watching this, as I also have a sore thumb from sewing binding. I bought a thimble, but I don't seem to be able to make it work for me.

are you pushing the needle with your thumb? If so it may be hard to find a thimble that fits your thumb. maybe you could tape a small coin over the sore spot to protect your poor thumb.

i haven't had that problem and i'm new to quilting...try looking at a you tube video...try searching for serena smith on line and how to blind stitch binding to the back of your quilt..it was very helpful to me...

I am holding the needle between my thumb & index finger & that is where the soreness is. I am only using these 2 fingers for the sewing. Also does the size or kind of needle matter?
    I did check out Serena Smith on youtube & bookmarked it to watch again. Thanks for trying to help me!
    Sue

I stopped sewing binding on by hand after my third quilt or so. I now make a 2 1/2 inch binding and sew it onto the front side, then fold it back and from the top stitch just in the ditch were the binding was attached to the front. No more sore fingers and a lot of extra time. Anna

Blog Entries
    I do the same...I do not enjoy hand sewing. Machine sewing the binding is quicker, secure and it looks good.
    Quote Originally Posted by Annaquilts