Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Help with binding and tying a kids quilt

  1. #1
    Super Member mom-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,486
    I've almost finished Lizzie's birthday quilt and am planning on tying it with narrow satin ribbon. The design uses 3" (finished size) squares. I was thinking of tying at alternating intersections of the squares. Will this be sufficient?

    Also this is the first time for me to add binding to a quilt. Always before I've just brought the backing fabric around for the binding, but this time my top and backing are the same width, so that won't work. How wide should I cut my binding strips? I'm guessing I will need to cut 2 strips the length of the quilt (~60") and 2 strips the width of the quilt (~45") by however wide they need to be.

    Thanks in advance for the help!

  2. #2
    Super Member virtualbernie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    3,588
    Blog Entries
    3
    I always cut my binding 2 1/2 inches and fold it in half.

  3. #3
    Super Member mom-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,486
    OK. Will try that.

    Does the spacing on my tying sound OK?

  4. #4
    Moderator littlehud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    32,958
    What kind of batting are you using.

  5. #5
    Google Goddess craftybear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Central Indiana (USA)
    Posts
    30,668
    Blog Entries
    194
    I just searched and found a video for you

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cedg4...eature=related

  6. #6
    Super Member DebraK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    9,191
    You might have problems with the satin ribbon staying tied.

  7. #7
    Google Goddess craftybear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Central Indiana (USA)
    Posts
    30,668
    Blog Entries
    194
    also found this tutorial on strips for your binding

    http://sewinspired.blogspot.com/2007...-tutorial.html

  8. #8
    Super Member Moonpi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Central FL
    Posts
    4,851
    Quote Originally Posted by DebraK
    You might have problems with the satin ribbon staying tied.
    I was thinking the same thing. Maybe a tiny dot of fray-check on the knot would help hold it.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    1,288
    how wide you cut the strips for the binding will be determined, in large part, by how wide you want the finished binding to be. The "formula" given my by my early quilting instructors is: For a folded (double layer) binding, determine width of finished binding then multiply by 7 to determine width of strip to cut. Example 1 - for one quarter inch finished binding: 1/4 times 7 is 1 and 3/4 inch cut strip. or..for half inch finished binding: 1/2 times 7 is 3 and 1/5 inch strip.

    From a practical standpoint, this formula works well if you're hand stitching the final binding seam. Since I don't do handwork I've adapted that formula to accommodate machine stitching the final seam...but there's a different discussion thread on all that.

    Why would people do different widths of final binding? In my case, just for the look of it. I prefer a bigger binding on a bigger quilt...

  10. #10
    Super Member sewcrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,958
    Quote Originally Posted by DebraK
    You might have problems with the satin ribbon staying tied.
    The satin ribbon might give you a problem. I don't know what kind of machine you have, but if it'll do a tack or french knot that should hold it in place.

  11. #11
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,092
    Blog Entries
    1
    I am wondering about the ends of the ribbon fraying and the knot coming lose because of that....

  12. #12
    Super Member mom-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,486
    Thanks all!
    FYI, I'm actually tying knots then tying bows on top of the knots. Also I'm using 1/8" ribbon which does not fray as easily as the 1/4" ribbon. I may also tie the loops of the bows together for a more secure bow. Since I'm using 12" lengths of ribbon this should not be a problem as far as looking right on the centers of 3" squares. Had originally thought about tying at the intersection of the squares, but it didn't look right doing it that way.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.