Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help - cutting layout for kits >

Help - cutting layout for kits

Help - cutting layout for kits

Old 06-05-2021, 07:04 PM

Question Help - cutting layout for kits

Hi!
I'm still new to quilting and like to use kits. The one I am working on now didn't have a layout guide for cutting the fabric, just how many squares and strips were needed. Of course, I didn't plan correctly when I cut my squares and now the fabric isn't long enough for two of my strips. I'm going to just sew two shorter strips together to make it work since this is just for me but would like to avoid this in the future.

Here's my question: is there any software or online guide to help you plan a cutting layout or is it just something you get better at with practice? TIA.

Old 06-05-2021, 11:32 PM
Gay

Welcome from Australia.

I have EQ7, in which you can draw up a block and print directions for rotary cutting, and it tells you how many pieces of each color you need to cut - & if some are reversed. If a quilt is created you can print out the amount of fabric needed. For a whole quilt using all the same blocks you will need to multiply that number of each piece by how many blocks you need to make. But it will not give you that number for the whole quilt. EQ8 may offer better, I don't know. Perhaps someone here who has this version will chime in and comment.
You should have a look at Bonnie Hunters website & blog. She has quite a few free patterns to download with directions that would help you figure it out. Many of us look forward to her mystery quilt that usually begin at Thanksgiving.

Old 06-06-2021, 02:07 AM