Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help deciding next project >

Help deciding next project

Help deciding next project

Old 07-03-2011, 03:28 AM

I'm a newbie and I have finally succeeded in making that toddler quilt and am 80% done with my other baby quilt (just gotta do the "sandwich" and it will be ready for the baby, who is due in Dec, guess I was in a hurry).

I really want to make a larger quilt and I am so attracted to both the NY Beauty, and also the Drunkards Path. I love how the blocks can be arranged and so many different patterns can be created.

BUT, I am a relatively new quilter, and both those patterns seem to me to be difficult....

Is there something that is similar but slightly less difficult that you might suggest? I am thinking that I should not really attempt the curved seams yet. But..who knows.

THank you all, hope you are having a good weekend!
Old 07-03-2011, 03:35 AM

I learned to do curved seams by making a Grandmas Fan. Make a small project first, view a tutorial on curved seam piecing and just practice. They aren't that hard, make a dozen and you'll have it down just fine. As for NY Beauty, not for me. Good luck and have fun.
Old 07-03-2011, 03:35 AM
Power Poster

My suggestion is to find the quilt you want to do and do a practice block. Sometimes it is good to stretch your skills. There are some quilters that start out with advanced blocks and do great 'cause no one told them it was too hard. Follow your passion:)
Old 07-03-2011, 04:01 AM

I loved the tube quilting (youtube.com video) and had great success at it and it was super EASY with little chance at errors. It was a post on here when I first joined and I loved it.
Old 07-03-2011, 04:55 AM

I agree--pick one you like, even if you think it might be hard, and do a practice run. If you don't like the idea of "wasting" fabric, you can make your practice block into a pillow sham or sofa cushion or something.
Old 07-03-2011, 05:40 AM
Power Poster