Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Help needed: can I switch machines to finish quilt?

  1. #1
    Junior Member Briarberry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    185

    Help needed: can I switch machines to finish quilt?

    I am having problems with my main machine. I only own vintage ones and the 301 has thread stuck in the bobbin case and I can't get it out. My repair man is away and I really want to finish a scrappy quilt top. Would it mess things up if I switch to my 99K? I read somewhere you should always use the same machine for a quilt and I always have. I have only been quilting for about 9 months and have never encountered this problem. Any advice would be helpful. I love these board, everyone is so knowledgeable and I have learned so much.

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,200
    I just finished a top that I started on my feather weight and finished it on my new Pfaff embroidery machine. Didn't seem to make a difference. Just be sure your seam width is the same and I think you will be ok. Good luck.
    Lorraine

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    81
    Lorraine is right. I recently started a new quilt on my Singer Genie which I use for classes and retreats and I'm finishing it on my big machine. Bonnie Hunter did a blog post on how she switches between MULTIPLE machines in a single project. In this blog post she explains how she's able to do it: http://quiltville.blogspot.com/2012/...-mi-amore.html

  4. #4
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    9,383
    You can switch , but double check your 1/4 inch . I know when I switch machines , i can be off just a bit , if I don't re-guage my 1/4 inch.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    344
    I switch between my Bernina and Janome machines all the time, depending on whether or not I have the Janome set on my quilting frame. As long as you keep a consistent seam width, there's no problem.
    -Chris-
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Blessed are the children of quilters, for they shall inherit the quilts....

    It does not do well, Harry, to dwell on the dreams....and forget to live. - Albus Dumbledore

  6. #6
    Super Member DebraK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    9,264
    yep, seam width is the only thing I see as a consideration. Honestly, when did we become so specialized? ;-)
    I have chosen to be happy because it is good for my health - Voltaire

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    816
    I've switched machines in the middle of a quilting project, and I can tell where I switched (subtle difference in the stitch formation). But this was for quilting- for piecing, it shouldn't make any difference at all, as long as a quarter-inch is a quarter-inch!

    I've been known to switch thread too when FMQing (I do it all the time when piecing...as long as the weight is close to the same it is fine) When I've done that, even "lay eyes" can tell the difference, as a thicker thread stands out more, but I don't really care.

  8. #8
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,838
    If you're quilting, it doesn't matter. If you're piecing, it really is good advice to not switch machines. Especially if the project is pieced in a complicated manner. But, if you have to, you have to. Just triple check that your 1/4" is exactly the same as your other machine. All my machines have different 1/4" feet and may be a hair or so different from the needle to the edge of the foot. Which adds up over time if I were to bounce between machines.

  9. #9
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    36,269
    As others have said, check your seam allowances to make sure they end up the same and go for it. I quite often switch machines in the middle of projects depending on what I am doing.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Toni C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Crosby,Texas
    Posts
    838
    The only reason 'they' say don't switch machines is because like everyone has said the 1/4 inch foot, or needle position is usually different on most machines take a scrap and stitch a seam and compare to what you've already done and make adjustment. Have fun and get er done!

  11. #11
    Junior Member Briarberry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    185
    Thank you everyone. I will use the 99K tomorrow and be sure to check the 1/4" seam. It's so great to have a place to ask these questions.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.