Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Help please!: What Size Should I Cut My Scraps?

Blog Entries
    Hi, I am a newbie quilter so I need your voices of experience. I have finally begun to organize my stash and now have a large pile of small fabric pieces ranging from a few inches to about 12" wide. I can't bear to throw them out, and would like to cut them into strips or squares and organize them by color. I heard on Fons & Porter that they like to cut their scraps into 6" and 2-1/2" strips. Does this sound like a good plan? Or...are there better or easier options? I appreciate any suggestions. Thanks ahead of time for your help!

Banned
    I cut a lot of 2.5 x 6 for scrap braid quilts and you can cut 2.5 x 4.5 and make split decision blocks.

I don't cut up my scraps. Because I never know what I am going to use them for in the future.

I would leave them whatever size they are and just sort by color until I picked a pattern and knew what sizes to cut them in.

If you want you can look thru the scrappy patterns at www.quiltville.com and see if there are any you'd like to start saving and cutting scraps for now.

Unless you know exactly what you're going to need in the future, you may want to wait on the scrap cutting. :D

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by PurplePassion
    I don't cut up my scraps. Because I never know what I am going to use them for in the future.
    Ditto

Blog Entries

Power Poster