Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help with pressing directions on diagonals >

Help with pressing directions on diagonals

Help with pressing directions on diagonals

Old 02-10-2019, 07:26 AM

Default Help with pressing directions on diagonals

I have been quilting for two years. One of my biggest problems is deciding in which direction to press diagonals. For snowballing I have been pressing to the dark however working on a magazine pattern now and it is instructing me to press open. On this particular pattern (Wave Length from AP&Q June 2017) this diagonal seam never meets up with another and therefore no bulk issues. This seems wrong to me, what I am missing? Brings me to my wider question of HST and QST pressing. As a beginner I as choosing to make a lot of simple patterns with these blocks but usually don't need to buy a pattern as they are so basic. Therefore no pressing instructions. I have tried everything and no matter what I do I end up with a lot of bulk when joining blocks and rows.

Any advice? Or could you direct me to a resource, online or otherwise. I have performed quite a few searches including on this site but haven't come up with anything useful.

Thanks!
Old 02-10-2019, 08:09 AM

I started quilting on my own back in the 70s before there were rotary cutters and such. As a senior in high school, I was intimidated by the "little old quilting ladies" that I have since become. Back then the books/designs didn't give you many directions. Just pictures of a block or historical quilts with pictures in black and white...

Anyway, I didn't know about pressing seams to the side for many years and happily pressed them open. They've been just fine open. I have a whole list of reasons, but basically I feel that with machine sewing pressing seams to the side is just a leftover artifact from hand sewing. Not to mention that we have irons now that plug in and don't have to heat on the wood stove.