Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help Scrappy Quilt >

Help Scrappy Quilt

Help Scrappy Quilt

Old 04-27-2015, 04:46 AM

Default Help Scrappy Quilt

I am new to quilting and my boyfriend got patches from Ebay (2")

I thought Id make a scrap quilt as a practice project to learn since they are small

My? I have sewn 6" strips of patches can I cut and make long narrow strips of material to insert between rows of patches ?

Boyfriend will learn to ask before buying. Lol
Old 04-27-2015, 04:50 AM

Absolutely! String them together to make a longer strip and use as sashing.
Old 04-27-2015, 04:52 AM
Power Poster

Would like to see a photo. It is hard to say without seeing what your pattern or idea is. Since he bought them, ask him. My best friend helps me pick out fabrics when he takes me to a quilt store.
Old 04-27-2015, 04:57 AM

Honey, it's your quilt. You can do anything you want. I just saw a top that had small 4patch blocks alternated with whole blocks and it was really cute. If you end up sewing strips of fabric together, just remember to alternate the diection of the seams. If you sew them all in one direction, your top could end up as a curve instead of square.

Btw, hang on to that BF. He sounds like a keeper if he's willing to help your interest in quilting!
Old 04-27-2015, 05:05 AM