Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help!!! Strips!! >

Help!!! Strips!!

Help!!! Strips!!

Old 01-18-2009, 04:35 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
ScubaK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Puget Sound, Wa. State
Posts: 2,394
Default

I am trying to cut 3 1/2 inch strips...
They are fine.
I sew 3 of them together with a 1/4 inch seam.
Why are they not coming out to a total of 9 1/2 inches?
I am loosing an 1/8th in there somewhere!!!
Heelllppp!!!
Kirsten
ScubaK is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 04:49 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 422
Default

Are you ending up with 9 3/8" strips...have you pressed the seams yet?
auntluc is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 04:49 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
luvmy2bts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 304
Default

Can you move your needle over a couple of threads making your seams just a smidge narrower? Sounds like you are close.

Debbie
luvmy2bts is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 04:50 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Connie1948's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Lunas, New Mexico
Posts: 426
Default

Sew a scant 1/4 inch....move your needle over 1 to the right. That usually works. If that is too much you might need to make a mark on your machine for that scant 1/4". I use a scant 1/4" for all my pieceing.
Connie
Connie1948 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 04:50 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Connie1948's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Lunas, New Mexico
Posts: 426
Default

Sew a scant 1/4 inch....move your needle over 1 to the right. That usually works. If that is too much you might need to make a mark on your machine for that scant 1/4". I use a scant 1/4" for all my pieceing.
Connie
Connie1948 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 04:50 PM
  #6  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
ScubaK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Puget Sound, Wa. State
Posts: 2,394
Default

I wanted to make the block 9 inches
I didn't press the seams open
I pressed towards the darks.
Will try this now!
Thanks,
K
ScubaK is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 04:51 PM
  #7  
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 590
Default

You need to sew with a SCANT quarter inch, which is about a thread width of your quarter inche seam.. this is because you lose about that much when you press to one side.

You are not doing anthing wrong, just move your seam line over a tiny bit and you will be right on..

jstitch is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 05:18 PM
  #8  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
ScubaK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Puget Sound, Wa. State
Posts: 2,394
Default

Thanks...
K
ScubaK is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
justflyingin
Pictures
23
11-25-2014 12:42 PM
Sandygirl
Links and Resources
20
06-29-2012 11:40 AM
craftybear
Links and Resources
1
08-10-2011 12:37 PM
wildyard
Main
104
02-10-2011 09:32 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.