Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Help

Help

I am very new to home machine quilting and have been researching what brand of thread to use for quilting my quilt.....does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks

you are stepping into a big hot topic. I personally use what i have on hand and or what looks best with the quilt be it cotton white or colored thread or verigated thread or if i can get thread on sale i do that. (big UH OH!!! i know) but it works for me and is just fine for me i find.
    when life gets you down go and talk with a little kid. They will help you work out even the worst problems with their simple logic.

Quote Originally Posted by sahm4605 View Post
    you are stepping into a big hot topic. I personally use what i have on hand and or what looks best with the quilt be it cotton white or colored thread or verigated thread or if i can get thread on sale i do that. (big UH OH!!! i know) but it works for me and is just fine for me i find.
    Ditto. As long as my machine is happy, I am happy.

Blog Entries
    I loveKing Tut but have used many other kinds too
    Patski
    always learning

Power Poster
    Blog Entries
    A lot depends on your machine. Some are persnickety and others are not. My machine handles most threads just fine and I often use the same thread for piecing as I do for quilting (just in a different or matching color). I use the 50 weight cotton thread from Connecting Threads. It is a bit linty but I like it. I also use variegated thread from the Coats & Clark Star line.

If you want your threads to stand out, then you could go with a thicker thread. (a 40 weight for example). If you do that, it is important to keep the bobbins separate. 40 weight is too thick to do piecing I think.

Regardless of which thread I use, I always buy it on sale.