Help

Old 05-08-2012, 09:53 AM

Default Help

I am very new to home machine quilting and have been researching what brand of thread to use for quilting my quilt.....does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks
Old 05-08-2012, 10:31 AM

you are stepping into a big hot topic. I personally use what i have on hand and or what looks best with the quilt be it cotton white or colored thread or verigated thread or if i can get thread on sale i do that. (big UH OH!!! i know) but it works for me and is just fine for me i find.
Old 05-08-2012, 10:34 AM

Originally Posted by sahm4605 View Post
you are stepping into a big hot topic. I personally use what i have on hand and or what looks best with the quilt be it cotton white or colored thread or verigated thread or if i can get thread on sale i do that. (big UH OH!!! i know) but it works for me and is just fine for me i find.
Ditto. As long as my machine is happy, I am happy.
Old 05-08-2012, 10:42 AM

I loveKing Tut but have used many other kinds too
Old 05-08-2012, 10:56 AM
Power Poster

A lot depends on your machine. Some are persnickety and others are not. My machine handles most threads just fine and I often use the same thread for piecing as I do for quilting (just in a different or matching color). I use the 50 weight cotton thread from Connecting Threads. It is a bit linty but I like it. I also use variegated thread from the Coats & Clark Star line.

If you want your threads to stand out, then you could go with a thicker thread. (a 40 weight for example). If you do that, it is important to keep the bobbins separate. 40 weight is too thick to do piecing I think.

Regardless of which thread I use, I always buy it on sale.
Old 05-08-2012, 07:16 PM
Power Poster