Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27

Thread: Help !!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member davef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Hot Springs, Arkansas
    Posts
    133
    Is this the machine or the operator ??

    Any ideas on solving this problem would be great.

    ~Dave

    Bobbin side loops
    Name:  Attachment-76538.jpe
Views: 14
Size:  60.2 KB

  2. #2
    Super Member LoisN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hannibal, Missouri
    Posts
    1,267
    Is your bobbin thread the same as your top thread? Presser foot down? check check

  3. #3
    Senior Member Mrs B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    507
    Blog Entries
    7
    Check that your machine is correctly threaded. Then check the bobbin tension.

  4. #4
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,088
    Blog Entries
    1
    Are you holding onto the thread ends for the first stitch or two?

  5. #5
    Super Member gcathie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Southeast, Ohio
    Posts
    3,270
    I'd say check how it is threaded and make sure the bobbin thread is inserted correctly....and the needle going the right way....if all is okay try the tension it is usually set between 3-5....give all that a try ...good luck

  6. #6
    Super Member katsewnsew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    2,373
    Make sure the bobbin was wound correctly. Sometimes they do not wind with the proper tension. Try another bobbin and see what happens.

  7. #7
    Junior Member davef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Hot Springs, Arkansas
    Posts
    133
    Quote Originally Posted by LoisN
    Is your bobbin thread the same as your top thread? Presser foot down? check check
    The blue thread is the top thread and presser foot is down

  8. #8
    Moderator sharon b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    20,406
    Blog Entries
    10
    Do you have the proper bobbin ? Sometimes they look the same but are slightly different .

    I would start over from scratch.. rewind a bobbin, new needle , rethread the machine .

  9. #9
    Senior Member katei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Belfast, N Ireland
    Posts
    342
    It really looks like a threading problem to me - check the bobbin - it's so easy to get it wrong.

  10. #10
    Junior Member davef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Hot Springs, Arkansas
    Posts
    133
    Quote Originally Posted by davef
    Is this the machine or the operator ??

    Any ideas on solving this problem would be great.

    ~Dave
    Dohh... It was the operator I rethreaded it and works like a champ

    Thanks to all our help

  11. #11
    mlaceruby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Somerset PA
    Posts
    901
    Looks like the bobbin thread is not thru the bobbin tension threading

  12. #12
    Super Member roseOfsharon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    4,501
    Blog Entries
    3
    Smiling, well happy you figured it all out! It can happen to anyone.

  13. #13
    Super Member katsewnsew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    2,373
    Yet another problem solved!!!! Hooray!

  14. #14
    Senior Member katei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Belfast, N Ireland
    Posts
    342
    Great when it turns out to be easy!

  15. #15
    Power Poster MadQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ELVERTA, CA
    Posts
    15,478
    Blog Entries
    1
    When I have a mess like that, 9 times out of 10 there is problem with the threading. On my Pfaff, the thread has a tendency to jump one of the uptake loops. With the Babylock I must have the needle up and the foot up.

  16. #16
    Super Member sewmuchmore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    3,997
    Blog Entries
    1
    That has happen to me a few times!! It can be oops: when you go tell your DH and he tell me, I need to thread the machine properly. :roll:

  17. #17
    Super Member C.Cal Quilt Girl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Central Ca
    Posts
    2,619
    Quote Originally Posted by sharon b
    Do you have the proper bobbin ? Sometimes they look the same but are slightly different .

    I would start over from scratch.. rewind a bobbin, new needle , rethread the machine .
    Yep, make sure the foots down, have one here that looks down when it's not, and all hooks are caught, when threading
    Good Luck !!

  18. #18
    Super Member Wine Woman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,224
    Blog Entries
    1
    Good job Dave, we knew you could fix it! Now you'll know for next time! :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

  19. #19
    Super Member SuziC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    3,711
    I had a problem like that once and it was the tension settings. Try rethreading the machine, change the bobbin, make sure thread and bobbin thread are the same weight. Hope some of this helps!

  20. #20
    Super Member franie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    6,573
    Problem solved. YEA!

  21. #21
    np3
    np3 is offline
    Power Poster np3's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    14,032
    Blog Entries
    7
    Everyone makes that mistake at one time or another. Ask me how I know!

  22. #22
    Senior Member ncsewer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    754
    When I was first learning about my new machine I was told if the bottom thread seems loopy it's usually the way it's threaded on top. Sometimes I can't find a mistake, but re-threading top seems to work for me too. Happy sewing!

  23. #23
    Super Member wvdek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    A million dollar view!
    Posts
    8,889
    If all else fails, get out the manual and follow step by step how to thresd and not what you have alway's done. One of teh board members here realized after three years of owning her machine, that she had been threading incorrectly. It happens.
    Not all bobbins fit all machines. Use the one intended for your machine even if you have to pay a little more.
    I used a heavier thread in the top than in the bottom yesterday and had to tear it all out. Unless your maual say's you can do this, don't.

    When is the last time you cleaned your bobbin area from the lint etc.? Even a stray piece of thread will clog it up.

    Check the manual and see what your tension should be. Your tension could be totally off.

  24. #24
    Super Member SuziC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    3,711
    Quote Originally Posted by franie
    Problem solved. YEA!
    Glad everything is okay......happy Quuilting!

  25. #25
    Moderator littlehud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    32,957
    I'm so glad you got it fixed. Operator errors happen a lot at my house.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.