Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Help. wrinkled batting... Panic!

Help. wrinkled batting... Panic!

What do I do with batting that comes off the roll all wrinkled?? This is my first time using batting from a roll and I'm getting near the end of it. It's very wrinkled! Thank you all so much for your advice! Where would I be without you ladies!
    Yesterday is history
    Tomorrow is a mystery
    Today is a Gift!

She who sews shall surely rip

I put my batting in the dryer about 15 minutes. It will loosen all those wrinkles

Power Poster
    If it is washable, i wash it.

Mine goes in dryer with damp towel.

Put it in the dryer with a damp towel.
    Quilt Gram

I've seen a lot of people say to let it sit flat for a while and it may relax, but the dryer with a damp towel idea sounds very good.
    Life is not a movie. No one is going to yell "CUT" when you make a mistake. - Anne L. Fulton

I am from the South....39 miles south of Boston.

What kind of batting?

How wrinkled?
    Can you smooth it out with your hand?
    Perhaps lay on a flat surface, and spritz it with water, and smooth it out?
    Let dry and then use?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Sew many ideas ... just sew little time!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I spritz lightly with warm water on the batting and shake it out, 4 wet wash cloths and put them all in the dryer for 10 minutes, remove everything, shake the batting out, spritz it lightly, put them all back in the dryer for another 10 minutes, and do the same thing one more time. Then spread out the batting on a clean area or hang on a clothesline.
    Busy in Ohio

Thank you all so much! After lunch I'll put it in the dryer with a damp towel. It's 100% poly batting.
    Yesterday is history
    Tomorrow is a mystery
    Today is a Gift!