Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How do you choose a quilting design >

How do you choose a quilting design

How do you choose a quilting design

Old 10-02-2023, 08:56 AM

Default How do you choose a quilting design

I'm new to quilting (and learning a lot with each project). One of the things I'm having a tough time with is trying to figure out what to quilt where. What are the designs you fall back on? Thank You.
Old 10-02-2023, 09:49 AM
Power Poster

Welcome to the board. A lot of design choice depends on how you are quilting. On a DSM? On a longarm? If so, do you use pantographs, robotics, or free motion? Are you comfortable with rulers? While you can technically quilt any design using any machine, the actual choice often depends on your equipment and your skill level.

I get a lot of design inspiration from other quilters on youtube, in blogs, or in books. Angela Walters is a good one to watch but there are lots of others. It also helps to take classes at quilt shows. Some of these focus specifically on how to decide on what to quilt where. But for most of us it's an ongoing question. I have a quilt loaded on the longarm right now. I've stabilized it with SITD, but I'm still waiting for inspiration for what designs to use with the actual quilting. Good luck!
Old 10-02-2023, 09:54 AM

That's the million dollar question! If you have access to a library, I recommend Alex Andersen for the hand quilting perspective, and Angela Walters for machine quilting. Also, there's an eye-opening book called, 'Quilting Makes the Quilt,' which you could probably find for cheap on amazon if it's not in your library.

If you're a computer person, I would guess there are endless tutorials and YouTube entries on that subject.

Welcome to the board and to quilting!
Old 10-02-2023, 10:48 AM
Power Poster