Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How do you quilt flannel? >

How do you quilt flannel?

How do you quilt flannel?

Old 02-01-2015, 05:33 AM

Default How do you quilt flannel?

I have been gifted boxes of flannel. I thought it would be great to use as backing for my quilts. I have never tried this before and I don't know how to quilt it. Should I tie it, straight line quilt or can I free motion it.

Any help you can give will be appreciated.
Old 02-01-2015, 05:47 AM

I would use it just like any other fabric, The make nice warm cozy quilts. Am not sure what type they are just be sure they are washed since they will shrink some mainly if you use it with other types of fabric. Backings would be wonderful too. as for the sandwiching and quilting I feel that is really up to you because they would do great either way.

Last edited by JAGSD; 02-01-2015 at 05:51 AM.
Old 02-01-2015, 05:48 AM

I love to use flannel as a backing on my quilts. I have been doing this for years. If it was cheap flannel, I prewash it.Otherwise, I use it unwashed. I quilt it as I would any quilt. Then, I bind and wash. Yes, I know....shrinkage, etc. But it has never been a problem. The quilt always shrinks/shrivels/whatever equally for me, once it's been quilted. And my quilts are frequently gifts with a replacement guarantee. In 20+ years, I've never been informed about a falling-apart or deteriorated quilt so this is my method and I'm sticking with it! 8^))
Old 02-01-2015, 05:50 AM
Power Poster

From what I understand, you need to pre-wash the flannel. I am doing my first flannel backing on a quilt for a person in a wheelchair. That was what was asked for. I am going to be very careful pinning it but am tempted to spray the flannel when I baste.

There are lots of different cute patterns for making rag quilts.
Old 02-01-2015, 06:28 AM
Power Poster