Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How do you wash a quilt with a minky backing? >

How do you wash a quilt with a minky backing?

How do you wash a quilt with a minky backing?

Old 03-11-2023, 06:57 PM

Default How do you wash a quilt with a minky backing?

I'm not a sewer nor do I have a lot of knowledge but I love quilts and have a growing collection of them and just recently purchased another quilt off of Etsy. It has a cotton quilt top, cotton batting and a minky backing and I reached out to the seller after ordering and they said that they did not prewash any of the fabric nor wash the finished quilt before selling which is frustrating because everything I read says to prewash your cotton if you're putting a minky backing on it since minky doesn't shrink.

How am I supposed to go about washing it? I normally wash all my quilts on cold, sometimes with an extra rinse, and then dry on low. Can minky fabric be dried on low? I see a lot of people saying it needs to be air dried but I live in a small 1 bedroom apartment with no balcony/patio and I'm in Minnesota where it's currently insanely cold along with lots of snow. And how is it going to look when the unwashed cotton top along with the cotton batting shrink? I love, love crinkly quilts but don't know how it'll turn out since minky doesn't shrink.

I've never used the no heat setting on a dryer, is that actually going to dry a wet quilt, along with dry the cotton top? Again, a lot of the stuff i've read said the no heat setting is basically just for using in 5-10 minute increments to fluff something up, not to actually dry wet clothes or bedding that just came out of a washing machine.

Last edited by I_Love_Waffles; 03-11-2023 at 07:00 PM.
Old 03-11-2023, 07:19 PM