Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How to make bias binding >

How to make bias binding

How to make bias binding

Old 08-18-2010, 08:09 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
MSandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SE Tennessee,USA
Posts: 25
Default

I know that I can use the bias tape tools to make this. But it has always seemed a waste to me to cut up material on the bias to use for binding. Is there a better way to do this?
MSandy
MSandy is offline  
Old 08-18-2010, 08:23 AM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
Prism99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Wisconsin
Posts: 12,931
Default

I like to heavily starch the fabric before cutting bias strips. Also like to fold the fabric such that I am cutting the longest bias strips possible from the fabric piece. That way the pieces that are left over are large enough to use for other purposes. I do not like the method that has you sew the fabric into a tube first; makes for too many seams in the bias.
Prism99 is offline  
Old 08-18-2010, 08:23 AM
  #3  
Super Member
 
sewcrafty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 3,877
Default

For me it depends on the kind of finish I have on the sides of my quilt. If I'm doing just a straight four sides then I'll cut it with the grain and double. If I'm doing curved, say as scallops, then I definitely do the bias binding.
sewcrafty is offline  
Old 08-18-2010, 08:44 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Greendale Twp: Midland, MI
Posts: 216
Default

I don't like the tube method either.
I fold my squared off end over to the selvedge. I do this on my big cutting table with a 4'x8' mat. You can always fold down to fit your mat.
I use my longest, heaviest ruler to cut the strips.
I now have a piece of plexiglas with a strip of emery cloth 1/2" wide glued down the center to hold it in place.
I wish they made emery cloth in different widths like a roll of tape. And while I'm wishing, I want it to be transparent.
Joyce is offline  
Old 08-18-2010, 08:54 AM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
MSandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SE Tennessee,USA
Posts: 25
Default

Well, we can always let people who make such things know our wishes. Thanks everyone for your replies.
MSandy
MSandy is offline  
Old 08-18-2010, 09:14 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Bluphrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Porter, TX
Posts: 530
Default

I was told that you only needed to use bias binding if the quilt had curved edges. Otherwise, using binding cut on the lengthwise grain was fine, too, if you didn't want to piece your binding. If you didn't mind piecing your binding, cutting on the crosswise was fine.
Bluphrog is offline  
Old 08-18-2010, 03:27 PM
  #7  
Super Member
 
SuziC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 3,683
Default

I have been using the bias tape maker for a while now and i love it. It's quick and easy....the iron does the work. I cut whatever pieces i need and have never had trouble even thought it's not on bias.
SuziC is offline  
Old 08-18-2010, 03:55 PM
  #8  
Power Poster
 
Jingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Outside St. Louis
Posts: 35,529
Default

I cut my binding strips on the crosswise grain and when I go around the curved ends I pull it a bit and it turns out great. I don't make square corners, don't like the way they hang on the bed.
Jingle is offline  
Old 08-20-2010, 10:08 AM
  #9  
Member
Thread Starter
 
MSandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SE Tennessee,USA
Posts: 25
Default

I have the bias tape makers, several of them, but I don't know how to use them. Couldn't figure out how to put the material in the thing. Thanks for all your replies. They have been very helpful.
MSandy
MSandy is offline  
Old 08-20-2010, 10:26 AM
  #10  
Power Poster
 
BellaBoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Front row
Posts: 14,648
Default

There are videos on youtube how to use the bias maker tools and how to cut bias strips using many different methods. I don't do anything if there is a tool that will do it for me. I bought the Simplicity bias ruler and the bias tape machine. The only binding dread I have now is sewing it on. LOL
BellaBoo is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
tropit
Main
11
12-22-2015 11:05 PM
tothenci
Tutorials
14
04-11-2011 01:53 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.