Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How many do I need? >

How many do I need?

How many do I need?

Old 05-02-2012, 06:49 PM

Default How many do I need?

I would like to know if there is a way to know how many charm packs or jelly rolls or layer cakes I need to order to have enough for a king size quilt. I know is has a lot to do with the pattern and maybe I should be able to figure it out, but my brain doesn't work like that!
Any help out there!
i just started learning about quilting and I love it, but I don't know how many charm packs to get, or jelly rolls.....
Thanks for any help you can give me.
Jeanne
Old 05-02-2012, 06:53 PM

Well, I would say that it does really depend on the pattern. My experience has been that it usually takes 2 charm packs (plus other fabric) for a lap-sized quilt so maybe triple that? I'm not for sure. Do you have a pattern in mind?
Old 05-02-2012, 07:22 PM
Power Poster

I have trouble figuring out stuff like that too. Here's how I would start out estimating. Take the size of the king-sized quilt and figure out how many 4.5" squares it would take to make. My guess is that it will take a *lot* of charm packs, but let's work it out.

Here is a website that helps you decide on the size of your quilt:
http://www.amishcountrylanes.com/Pages/QuiltSize.shtml

I will arbitrarily figure 105" x 105" (although I think a lot of king quilts are made more like 110" square to allow for some shrinkage). 105 divided by 4.5" (the finished size of a 5" charm after seams) = (get out trusty calculator) 23. So it takes 23 charms to go across in one row. To cover the whole bed, it will take 23x23 = 529 charms.