Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How to square up a quilt? >

How to square up a quilt?

How to square up a quilt?

Old 09-05-2010, 11:10 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 133
Default

Hi All-

Made my first quilt..its a twin size one for a christmas gift. I cut off the extra backing and batting, and layed it on the floor, and noticed that its uneven on sides..how do I "square it up" before adding the biding?

Thanks!
Hockeyrabbit is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 11:14 AM
  #2  
Google Goddess
 
craftybear's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 30,181
Default

I searched and found this tutorial

http://naptimequilter.blogspot.com/2...-tutorial.html
craftybear is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 11:18 AM
  #3  
Power Poster
 
Prism99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Wisconsin
Posts: 12,931
Default

Squaring up should actually take place when you cut off the extra backing and batting. What I do is use 2 straight rulers and a 45-degree triangle ruler (a T-square works great for this if you have one!) to make sure I have a perfect 45-degree corner; then I mark the corner. I do this on all 4 corners, then connect the lines in-between. I stand back and look to make sure nothing looks wonky before I cut. If I'm not sure, I re-measure and remark as necessary until I am satisfied.

Actually, after I have the square marked, I do not cut the quilt yet. I first attach the binding, using my cutting line to match up the cut edges of the binding. Only after that do I cut the quilt (making absolutely sure that the binding is out of the way of my rotary cutter!).

You can do something similar at this point, but you now have much less room for error.

I will be interested to hear how others square up a quilt in case someone has a better method than mine.
Prism99 is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 11:48 AM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: High Entropy Zone
Posts: 1,247
Default

Check this video out. I love it when technology is a friend.

http://sharonschambernetwork.com/Cla...d-Basting.aspx
lab fairy is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 11:51 AM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Qbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 4,091
Default

When you added your borders, did you measure the middle of the quilt to get the length for the borders?
Qbee is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
JudyMN
Main
4
10-23-2013 03:09 PM
susaninkansas
Main
13
10-15-2012 09:11 AM
dhanke
Pictures
37
06-29-2012 10:46 AM
craftybear
Links and Resources
6
09-03-2011 04:22 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.