Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
I just discovered the quilt pieces I have been working on have broken stitches! >

I just discovered the quilt pieces I have been working on have broken stitches!

I just discovered the quilt pieces I have been working on have broken stitches!

Old 03-02-2016, 08:59 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Janan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 155
Default I just discovered the quilt pieces I have been working on have broken stitches!

I was ripping stitches from one of my pieces I have been working on and I discovered that every 5 or 6 inches a stitch was broken! I am so upset because I don't know if it was the thread (Aurafil), my needle, the tension or what????

Could it be the needle? I bought new needles yesterday because I heard clicking when I sewed. I didn't know if the needle was dull or broken (bought at Walmart), but thought it best to buy new needles at the sewing center where I bought the machine.

Does this mean I need to rip all my pieces out and start over?

Unhappy,
Janan
Janan is offline  
Old 03-02-2016, 09:09 PM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Wisconsin
Posts: 12,930
Default

What kind of machine do you have? On mine, if either the top thread or bobbin thread is broken, no more stitches are formed.

No need to rip. If you determine a seam is compromised, all you have to do is sew over it again (or just to the right of the previous stitches to reinforce them). No one will know.
Prism99 is offline  
Old 03-02-2016, 11:08 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,140
Default

Honestly, it sounds like an issue with your timing belt. You could try all the basic troubleshooting tips (change thread, change needle -- should be an 80/12 sharp or microtex, floss thread run, oil machine, re-thread, switch direction of spool pin) but from what you're describing I'd guess it's the timing and would probably take it in for annual service.

EDIT: here's a link for how to check if it's a timing issue. http://www.sewitworks.com/timing/

Last edited by Bree123; 03-02-2016 at 11:11 PM.
Bree123 is offline  
Old 03-02-2016, 11:13 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
DOTTYMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: England Alton Towers
Posts: 6,674
Default

Try all the tips from Bree123 and see what happens. If this happened with my bernina it would be a new needle.
DOTTYMO is offline  
Old 03-03-2016, 02:31 AM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: N.E. England
Posts: 1,165
Default

Bree123 thanks for the link.
cannyquilter is offline  
Old 03-03-2016, 08:02 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Janan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 155
Default

Bree123, thanks for the tips and Prism99, thanks for the reassurance.

My machine is a new Husqvarna Viking Opal. I have done all of the troubleshooting advised, so next I will look at the link to check on timing. I will also see if my new needles make a difference.

Thanks to all of you!

Janan
Janan is offline  
Old 03-03-2016, 08:12 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 4,299
Default

When I've had this happen in the past, it was caused by a damaged needle. Hopefully that's all it'll be for you, as well!
Sewnoma is offline  
Old 03-03-2016, 08:27 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Posts: 773
Default

For any sewing problem, I first retread from scratch and then change the needle. Needles are cheap in bulk and generally less than a dollar even in small quantities. It just isn't worth your time to mess with it.

Hope the new needle works. In general timing issues affect every stitch, not just every few stitches.

Pam
CanoePam is offline  
Old 03-03-2016, 09:39 AM
  #9  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 19,131
Default

Originally Posted by Prism99 View Post
No need to rip. If you determine a seam is compromised, all you have to do is sew over it again (or just to the right of the previous stitches to reinforce them). No one will know.
I agree, just stitch over your broken stitches. I have been using Aurifil for all of my piecing and have never had a broken stitch on my Bernina.
ManiacQuilter2 is offline  
Old 03-03-2016, 10:18 AM
  #10  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 9,018
Default

Do you mean every 6 or so the stitch thread is actually "cut". Is it top or bottom thread? I cannot imagine, if the thread actually breaks in two pieces, how you are able to continue sewing.......if when sewing, bobbin thread breaks and I continue to go I just get that long top thread line.......if it's top thread...just holes in fabric and thread waving in the breeze along side the needle or sucked up into head.....even on my L/A. Now skipped stitches....that's different.
Geri B is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Sewnoma
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
10
08-13-2015 05:23 AM
Stitchnripper
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
20
10-11-2013 07:59 AM
rosemaynes
Pictures
50
07-24-2011 02:49 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.