Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
I made a good decision >

I made a good decision

I made a good decision

Old 09-12-2013, 11:08 AM

Default I made a good decision

Years ago, I decided that quilting was going to be my hobby. I made my first wall hanging & remember taking it to show to my mother who was a quilter - I was so pleased with myself. I said, I bet you didn't think I could make it, and I remember exactly what she said to me. "Well, honey, I knew you could do it."
That was probably 30 years ago, & I'm still enjoying making quilts and the decision I made that day.

My mother might be making quilts in Heaven now.
How/when did you decide to make quilts?
Old 09-12-2013, 11:20 AM

I have been sewing since I was about 12 yrs old, making clothes for dolls and then graduating to clothes for myself and family members. About 10 years ago I signed up for a quilting class, at the class the teacher asked why we signed up for the class. I answered that I wanted to say that I had made one quilt in my lifetime, she laughed. Well, needless to say I am hooked on quilting and love it. pat
Old 09-12-2013, 11:22 AM

My grandmother taught me to sew - she did all the sewing for our family as my mom couldn't operate any kind of machine...literally...not a single machine! She did do handwork, however, so I'd sew, Mom would do the hems and other handwork and my sister did the dishes. Worked for me! But I digress. Later in life - about 20 years ago - I decided that I wasn't interested in sewing garments any more but wanted to sew, so that left quilting - Grandma also did quilting, I just had never gotten into it....now I do it all the time and love it. Rarely use a pattern more than once - or if I do, I find a way to change it. I do a lot of "what iffing". Love making freehand quilts...quilts with no pattern.
Old 09-12-2013, 11:27 AM