Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: IMPORTANT:tater bag opinion needed please

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Vail, AZ
    Posts
    120
    My quilting group started making microwave tater bags to sell at craft shows in December for fundraiser. Some in group are voicing concerns about bags catching on fire and think we need to put warning with the bags when we sell them. I would rather not make and sell them if we have to list a warning about them catching on fire. Can I have opinions on this please? Thanks so much.

  2. #2
    Super Member sewbeadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    3,999
    Use cotton thread and put the time that they should be used in the microwave. That should do it. Most people would use their heads I would think.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    West Frankfort, Illinois
    Posts
    51
    The thing you have to remember is that POLYESTER THREAD MELTS!! You have to use 100% cotton thread to sew it together and rayon thread AND rayon bobbin thread if you embroider anything on it. Sulky is the only one that I've found that makes rayon thread. Cotton thread is also hard to find. Remember to use UNBLEACHED muslin for the inside layer and UNBLEACHED batting. You can use any kind of cotton outer fabric. If you follow all of these rules you'll be fine

  4. #4
    Super Member grann of 6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Glenmoore, PA
    Posts
    7,472
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by dianna1234
    My quilting group started making microwave tater bags to sell at craft shows in December for fundraiser. Some in group are voicing concerns about bags catching on fire and think we need to put warning with the bags when we sell them. I would rather not make and sell them if we have to list a warning about them catching on fire. Can I have opinions on this please? Thanks so much.
    I have seen these and just don't get it. What's wrong with a piece of paper towel wrapped around the potato to microwave? There is special batting to be used. As others are saying, you have to use everything cotton, no polyester. I wouldn't want to risk being sued over something like this. I don't know what the legal ramifications would be, but I myself wouldn't want to risk buying something like that from a stranger. Thank you, I will keep using my damp paper towel, and have it to wipe my hands after eating the potato.

  5. #5
    Super Member deedum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bluebell
    Posts
    4,235
    I agree with you! The idea of having to put a warning on the bag and you should, may deter the sale. I would look at something else. I made one 100% cotton and I still question what the thrill is!

  6. #6
    Super Member patchsamkim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Fox Valley Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,932
    I have made many...always use cotton batting, fabrics and thread...have had no problems with any burning. I always have included information on cooking times. I have never sold any though, just have given them away as gifts.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Firmly North Georgia
    Posts
    840
    I've seen these selling like hotcakes at street fairs and no, they didn't have warning on them. Test your product if you have reservations. 100%% cotton batting, cotton thread, cotton fabric. Wash your tater and put it in wet, four minutes, flip, four more minutes. Hurrah for common sense, it may return yet.

    They work and they are reusable.

  8. #8
    dd
    dd is offline
    Super Member dd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,744
    I also put bread or rolls in mine and they don't get chewy like when you just wrap them a paper towel for some reason.

  9. #9
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    44,346
    Blog Entries
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by grann of 6
    Quote Originally Posted by dianna1234
    My quilting group started making microwave tater bags to sell at craft shows in December for fundraiser. Some in group are voicing concerns about bags catching on fire and think we need to put warning with the bags when we sell them. I would rather not make and sell them if we have to list a warning about them catching on fire. Can I have opinions on this please? Thanks so much.
    I have seen these and just don't get it. What's wrong with a piece of paper towel wrapped around the potato to microwave? There is special batting to be used. As others are saying, you have to use everything cotton, no polyester. I wouldn't want to risk being sued over something like this. I don't know what the legal ramifications would be, but I myself wouldn't want to risk buying something like that from a stranger. Thank you, I will keep using my damp paper towel, and have it to wipe my hands after eating the potato.
    :thumbup: :thumbup:

  10. #10
    Senior Member rj.neihart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    776
    I was at a craft show the other day and there were some of the potato bags being sold. As I looked them over, the sales person mentioned they have magnets in them so one can stick them to the side of the microwave. I wonder if maybe this is why some catch on fire?

  11. #11
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    howell, Mi
    Posts
    2,343
    How can you put something with a magnet in it into the microwave? I would be afraid of selling them with so many warnings on them. I don't see the novelty of them anyway. I don't wrap my potatoes in anything when I cook in the microwave.
    Sue

  12. #12
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,495
    Blog Entries
    2
    Part of the fire issue is people use warm and natural. It is a cotton batting, but it has a polyester scrim. The warm company makes a special batting just for this purpose. Follow all the directions above for all cotton everything. I also question the magnet thing. My microwave has plastic sides anyway...

  13. #13
    Super Member grann of 6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Glenmoore, PA
    Posts
    7,472
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by PaperPrincess
    Part of the fire issue is people use warm and natural. It is a cotton batting, but it has a polyester scrim. The warm company makes a special batting just for this purpose. Follow all the directions above for all cotton everything. I also question the magnet thing. My microwave has plastic sides anyway...
    My microwave is built-in, so no place to hang anything. I have enough problem keeping the clutter out of my kitchen without something else to deal with. I know people don't like the thought of throwing away paper towel, etc. and the idea of having something to put your potato in to microwave it is attractive. But in the end it will be put in a drawer with the hot dog cooker, aluminum potato skewers, the hot air popper, the rice cooker....and on and on and on.

  14. #14
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    15,126
    First of all, I'm not trying to put a damper on things. More so, trying to help with a bit of reality re the concerns. Pathetic as it is, this is life today, isn't it?

    Being that your group is already having 2nd thoughts... then perhaps they should not even sell them.

    It's all about liability and as a group, HUGE concerns should the worse case scenario ever happen, with attached warnings or not. And that liability could stretch out and affect each and everyone of you.

    Enjoy the potato bags for your personal usage!

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Vail, AZ
    Posts
    120
    Thanks all for your opinions. We have used 100% cotton and still have concerns so best to follow our gut instincts and your opinions and use for personal use only. Thanks again. Dianna

  16. #16
    Super Member irishrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cadillac, MI
    Posts
    6,579
    Blog Entries
    19
    I bought one at a quilt quild show and it caught on fire in 2 minutes. I have to assume it was correctly made and I know I used it correctly.

    I wouldn't use a warning label. I know if you have 'Beware of dog' warning and the dog bites, there are much more severe liabilties than if you don't use a sign. Personally, I wouldn't sell them.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.